Skip to content

True Story Tuesday — Making Brownies

January 19, 2010

Dislcaimer: This is my first ever attempt at a True Story Tuesday post.  Now, I don’t have the ability to write anywhere near as humorously as Rachel can…so please bear with me! 

 

We’ve been trapped indoors over the past few days, snowed in yet again.  My husband plows, so we’ve seen very little of him.  While rummaging around in the pantry trying to figure out what I could throw together for the next few meals, I unearthed a box of brownie mix from the back of the cabinet.    

Photobucket

Our apron sets were a Christmas gift -- matching aprons, oven mitts, and hot pads!

Shane and I put on our matching Christmas aprons, I dragged a chair over to the kitchen island, and we got to work, wanting to surprise Daddy with a pan of warm, fudgy brownies.    

He helped me dump the brownie mix into the bowl, I turned away to fill the measuring cup with water, and turned back to discover…   

 …my son, face down in the bowl, excitedly licking the tippity top of the mound of brownie mix.    

Photobucket

Photo taken earlier this month, after making chocolate pudding together.

He looked up at me curiously when I started to snort with laughter, exclaimed “Nummy!  Oh, Mama, nummy!”  then dove head-first back into the bowl as though he were bobbing for brownie mix.  I could see his face through the clear glass of the mixing bowl — eyes squeezed tightly shut, little tongue licking away at the powdered chocolate mix.   

A “good” mother would probably have tossed out the mix and started from scratch.  Yeah, well…I guess I’m not that mother.  After I wiped my eyes and finally stopped howling with laughter, I gave him a little bowl and spoon with a small gob of brownie mix and let him go to town with it.  I moved out of his reach on the other side of the island, quickly mixed in the oil and eggs, and poured it into the pan. 

The good news?  This made a pretty funny story when my husband finally came home, exhausted after a  long day of plowing/sanding/salting/shoveling.  

The bad news?  The little brownie-mix-fiend woke up early this morning with a whopper of a cold.  Uh oh…

 

In need of a good laugh today? Take a moment to check out other hysterical, amazing, and/or outrageous tales included in this week’s True Story Tuesday.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 5:50 pm

    Love it when Mommas let their kids play…

    Thanks for linking up.

  2. January 19, 2010 6:07 pm

    Oh my gosh, that is too funny! You are going to have him glued to your side every single time you bake now. Great first TST!

  3. January 19, 2010 7:19 pm

    That’s hilarious! I wouldn’t worry about it too much, the oven kills all germs. Besides, when kids have colds they are all over you anyways, lol! You told a great story!!!

  4. January 20, 2010 2:30 am

    Ohmygosh – I think every mom here is totally picturing that scene in their own kitchen too! That is funny and a-dor-able!

    Good thing you hadn’t added egg yet, huh?

    And (ahem), y’all share everything anyway, so I totally wouldn’t have thrown the batch out for a cute kid licking it!

    But in my story, I would have run out of eggs, added too much water, set off the smoke alarm, burned myself getting it out of the oven, and ruined a baking sheet. Yeah… that’d be about right 🙂

    Thanks for joining in – especially loved it with the pictures!

  5. January 20, 2010 10:57 am

    How cute is that?! I hope none of you catch his cold but if I were you I almost wouldn’t care because that story is the good stuff. I loved him telling “Nummy! Oh, Mama, nummy!” Too Cute!

  6. January 20, 2010 2:15 pm

    That is so funny! Brownie mix is yummy…I would have done the same thing. 🙂

  7. January 20, 2010 9:59 pm

    Stopping by from Once Upon a Miracle…

    What a great story (and awesome picture). Your little one is sooo cute!!

Leave a comment