Skip to content

NaBloPoMo? Whoops!

November 22, 2010

So I never posted yesterday. I thought about it, once, not long after curling up beside my husband in bed for the night. For a brief, insane moment, I contemplated crawling out of bed and turning the computer back on…but quickly realized just how ridiculous it would be if I followed through.

With that one missed day, my attempt at successfully completing NaBloPoMo this year just fizzled out. I don’t regret not posting yesterday, nor do I regret signing up. My entire reason for even trying to post once a day during the month of November wasn’t to prove anything, or to “win” some intangible bragging rights. I just wanted desperately to get back into the habit of blogging again.

I’m still going to try to post once a day for the rest of the month, just to continue reestablishing the blogging habit…but I’m not going to stress if a day (or two!) passes me by with nothing being posted.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 10:44 pm

    Eh, whatchya’ going to do? Life gets in the way of recording life. Huh? Well..you know what I mean.

    Remember that time you were writing about needing to write on paper a little as well? Found myself doing that the other day and still feeling that way….it’s good to put my thoughts on paper as well as on a screen!

    • November 26, 2010 11:36 am

      I like that…”Life gets in the way of recording life.” That’s really what you want, in the grand scheme of things! =)

      I’ve been writing more in my journal lately, as well…I wonder if it’s the time of year? It seems to come in spurts for me, there’ll be a period of time when I’m blogging like crazy and don’t even crack open the journal, and then it’ll flip-flop and my blog suffers while my journal gets filled up. I guess each type of writing serves it’s own purpose. Glad to hear you’ve given paper journaling a try — sometimes it’s just so much more freeing & intimate. No worries about grammer or spelling, no stress over trying to write well…it’s just writing from the heart.

  2. November 27, 2010 4:22 pm

    I think many bloggers start to dread coming up with the next idea or inspiration for a post. I hope you keep this a place of joy and sharing and not a place of stress. Writing every day for a month is definitely a great exercise, but writing with excitement, enthusiasm and energy is good, too. 🙂

  3. February 20, 2011 4:07 pm

    Good for you! Sometimes sleep/life should trump blogging…and I’m glad that you don’t feel guilty about it.

Leave a Reply

