Skip to content

The One In Which I Play Blogging Catch-Up

May 27, 2010

As far as blogging is concerned, I’ve been slacking over this past week.  To be honest, the weather has just been far too wonderful to spend much time indoors, which means my computer time has been limited (which is a good thing, since it’s too easy for me to find flimsy excuses to spend too much time on the computer if I’m just puttering around the house!).

We’ve been outdoors early each morning, coming in for lunch and nap, then back outdoors we go.  Gardening and trips to the farm, little hikes and mornings spent at the beach, sandboxes and wading pools, play dates and playgrounds.  It’s been a busy week, a hectic-yet-relaxing week, a week I’d love to recreate all summer long.

Shane’s napping now, slumped over in his highchair, with one hand resting in a bowl of uneaten pasta.  A better mother would wake him up, clean him off, then attempt to settle him back to sleep in his bed…but I’m going to let him snooze where he is.  Naps have been hit or miss over the past several weeks, and while I’m celebrating the fact that no nap seems to equal sleeping through the night, I’ve been missing my cherished mid-day me-time.

I have laundry I should fold, a dishwasher I should empty, an overdue library book I should finish reading, and a blog reader that’s ready to explode with unread posts.  Can you guess what I’ll be doing during the remainder of Shane’s nap?!

Right now I’m savoring these moments of quiet, the soft sounds of my son’s sleepy breathing and the birdsong outside my window.  Today the chores can wait.  It won’t be long before the afternoon quiet dissolves in giggles, unending toddler-chatter, and even more outdoor adventures.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 2:51 pm

    Ah, those days are so much fun. I miss them! Wish I had more time with my son!

  2. May 27, 2010 2:51 pm

    er..wish I had more time with my son to do this stuff!

  3. May 27, 2010 5:14 pm

    Sounds like heaven to me!

  4. May 27, 2010 6:37 pm

    You definitely need some outdoor time these days!!! Staying home is boring -:)

Leave a comment