Skip to content

A Pretty Good Day

November 13, 2010

Originally posted on my family blog on Nov. 2nd, 2009
Re-posted today because it fits so perfectly with the week we’ve had…
and because I pledged to post once a day during November for NaBloPoMo,
but I’m feeling just too tired and too lousy (sinus infection) to write anything worthwhile.

: : : : : :

The time change has thrown off Shane’s sleep. And if Shane isn’t sleeping well, Mama’s not sleeping well. He was sound asleep by six last night, up again by eleven, and up a few more times over the course of the night, before deciding that five thirty was a fabulous time to wake up raring to go.

I’m exhausted.

It’s just been one of those days. You know those days, when nothing — seriously, nothing — goes as planned. A Murphy’s Law kind of day. A day where I’ve been tired and frustrated and annoyed with the world, and with myself.

While driving home from the grocery store, still silently fuming about various grocery-store dramas, Shane was in his car seat thumbing through a picture book. I wasn’t listening to the CD that was playing, but he apparently was. From the backseat came his little voice, softly singing along with the chorus of the Dixie Chick’s Godspeed (Sweet Dreams).

Godspeed, little man
Sweet dreams, little man
Oh my love will fly to you each night on angels wings
Godspeed
Sweet dreams

They’d sing “Godspeed” and Sean would sing “Baw-bee!” They’d sing “Sweet dreams” and he’d sing out “Dee Deam.” Each and every time the chorus was sung he’d happily sing along where he could.

Godspeed, little man
Baw-bee
Sweet dreams, little man
Dee Deam
Oh my love will fly to you each night on angels wings
Godspeed
Baw-bee
Sweet dreams
Dee Deam!

I kept this song on repeat the rest of the way home. How do you hold on to a sour mood after being sung to, so sweetly, by your toddler?

You can’t.
You don’t.

In the grand scheme of things, today actually has been a pretty good day.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2010 10:20 pm

    Any day your toddler sings to you is an awesome one…!

    You’re my book winner! I emailed you. Send me your address and I’ll get your book in the mail.

    Congrats!

  2. November 14, 2010 12:19 am

    Ug. Sinus infections during pregnancy are no fun at all. I had one at 36 weeks last time around. Rest up and get well soon!

  3. November 14, 2010 11:59 am

    Awww! I love seeing my toddler sing, it just warms your heart!

    How sweet – glad it made your day better!

  4. November 14, 2010 2:06 pm

    Just one more gift our kids bring. So glad you could stop and appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

