Skip to content

Simple Pleasures

November 11, 2010

I’m so grateful that most of my must-have-it-now-or-else cravings in this pregnancy have been leaning towards healthier options such as fruits, vegetables, and whole foods…

Yet, with all that said, there’s still no denying that there are times when only double chocolate fudge ice cream (in a pretty cobalt blue dish, no less) will do.

Yesterday was a long, difficult day.Β  A dreary day filled with housework, toddler tantrums and never-ending escapades, and a bone-deep exhaustion due to several nights in a row of less-than-stellar sleep.

Yesterday, I was hanging onto the end of a rapidly fraying rope, just holding tight and waiting…

Waiting for my husband to arrive home and occupy Shane,
Waiting for my son’s bedtime, and the eventual calm that comes once he’s asleep,
Waiting for the time when I could finally, gratefully, wrap myself up in the soft comfort of my Grammy’s afghan, put my feet up on the couch, and dig into a much-needed dish of chocolate ice cream.

Yesterday was a long, difficult day…and it’s on days like these where the very simplest of pleasures are appreciated the most.

: : : : :

Today I’m linking up with Dayle at A Collection of This and That.

Project Simple Pleasures2

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 3:14 pm

    I’m not a chocolate-lover, generally….but this image is wonderful! I can only imagine how comforting it was to you at the end of your day.

  2. November 11, 2010 5:02 pm

    Oh my … what a delectable simple pleasure, and so beautifully written. I was right there with you, and now I’m craving ice-cream. πŸ˜‰

  3. November 11, 2010 7:21 pm

    Boy do I know these days! Without the baby in my womb.

  4. November 11, 2010 8:34 pm

    I’ve had plenty of those days, too. You are right, those are the days when the simple pleasures should be relished.

  5. November 11, 2010 10:30 pm

    Yes, those days come to all of us …. nothing like chocolate ice-cream to bring us pleasure.

  6. November 12, 2010 2:27 am

    So glad you got to indulge in such a nice treat πŸ™‚ I love the blue dish too! A great simple pleasure post. blessings..Trish

  7. November 12, 2010 3:56 pm

    You are so right. It is when the pleasure is so long in coming it is most treasured. Glad you got your ice cream. Chocolate is always a good Rx.
    Have a good week -end, Annette

  8. November 13, 2010 10:37 am

    Sometimes nothing but an indulgent dessert of chocolate anything is the only thing that will do. Yours looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

