Skip to content

A Work in Progress: Shane’s Play Kitchen

November 9, 2010

Earlier this year I stumbled across a link to this blog post by Erin at Sutton Grace. In this post, she describes how she transformed an old entertainment center into the most spectacular play kitchen for her daughter. This little kitchen was so incredibly adorable that I wanted to sit down and play myself!

Since reading about this entertainment-center-to-play-kitchen transformation, I’ve been on a mission.  I’ve spent the summer searching for free or cheap entertainment centers on Freecycle and Craigslist.  While scouring the internet for more ideas, I discovered links to several other incredible homemade play kitchens created from re-purposed entertainment centers.

Eventually the day-dreaming paid off.  We were able take home an old entertainment center that had been left beside a dumpster at my brother’s work.  Now the planning could begin!  Using the entertainment centers I linked to above as my inspiration, I started working out how we could best use the piece that we found to create a kitchen that Shane would enjoy.

I wish I thought to take a “before” picture of the entertainment center. My husband has already removed the drawers on the bottom and the cabinet doors on the side, cut a hole for the “sink” (which is a metal mixing bowl I had lying around), installed a salvaged faucet, and attached the cabinet door below the sink.

As you can tell, the far left side will be the sink. The middle section will be the stove-top/oven, and the far right cabinets will be converted into a refrigerator/freezer.

We’re trying to do this as inexpensively as possible. So far we’ve been able to salvage hardware such as cabinet door handles, hinges, knobs, and those magnetic latches from my husband’s grandmother’s barn, and the plywood was found set aside and forgotten in his other grandmother’s basement. The faucet was given to us by one of my sister-in-law’s friends, who is a plumber. So far the only expense we’ve had has been primer and paints. The paint came from the “Oops” rack at Home Depot, and is a vibrant red that reminds me of a 1950’s diner. We also picked up a can of silver spray paint for the refrigerator doors, stove-top, and oven door.

While this kitchen set is technically Shane’s big Christmas gift from us, we’re hoping to have it finished and in our house being used well before the holiday.  I’m just too impatient to wait!

Edited to add: I wrote about the completed kitchen and shared photos of the process here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 10:53 pm

    That is an absolutely awesome idea! I can’t wait to see when it is finished!

    • November 10, 2010 9:22 am

      Thank you! I can’t wait for it to be finished…I’m dying to get it up into our apartment so we can start playing!

  2. November 10, 2010 12:10 am

    This is an amazing idea! What an excellent present for him!!!

    • November 10, 2010 9:23 am

      Thanks! I can’t wait for him to see it when it’s done (I’ll have to try to get a photo of his expression!)

  3. November 11, 2010 4:46 am

    Great job! I can’t wait to see the completed kitchen!

Leave a Reply

