Skip to content

My Very Short Attention Span (or, why Facebook is winning out over blogging lately)

October 30, 2010

It’s autumn…we’ve got leaves to gather (and jump in!), pumpkin patches to explore, and crisp fall weather to enjoy.  I don’t want to be indoors, and I’m staring at this computer screen feeling less than inspired.  I’m waiting for my little adventurer to wake from his nap, so that we can both bundle up and head outdoors.

Recently, I’ve been feeling as though my two-year-old has a better attention span than I do.  My fingers hover over the keyboard, a few sentences get typed, deleted, retyped…and then I’m wandering of to the refrigerator.  Later I find myself contemplating the same unfinished blog post…but then settle down on the couch with a book (lately, the book has been either pregnancy or craft-related).  I feel as though I’m fluttering from here to there, not fully committed to any one task.

Blogging has been a bit much for me.  Writing and rewriting, uploading photos and tinkering with photo editing…when I can barely muster up the motivation or energy to tackle my daily household chores, blogging has fallen by the wayside.  Facebook?  Well, now Facebook I can handle.  A quick little blurp, a short sentence or two, and voila!  An update.  Easy, simple, and stress-free.

So I thought I’d share a few of my Facebook status updates from the past month or so.  Here’s a little glimpse into the life of one very tired pregnant stay-at-home mama, and her incredibly energetic (and more often than not, incredibly amusing) little man, as seen through the lens of Facebook status updates.

: : : : : :

Shane: Oh no! Mommy, clean it!
Me: Clean what?
Shane: Clean a train track!
(There’s a puddle on and around his wooden train track).
Me: Shane…why is your train wet?
Shane: I pee-pee on it. Clean it?
::sigh:: Potty-training toddlers are so much fun.

~*~*~*~

Crystal … is in hysterics while listening to Shane sing “I’m a Believer.” He cracks me up!

~*~*~*~

Crystal … is making yogurt and listening to Shane & Daddy belly-laughing together…yeah, this is how we rock a Saturday night.

~*~*~*~

Crystal … just investigated a wild crashing & smashing down the hallway…and discovered Shane absolutely demolishing a hornet with only an empty plastic container as a weapon. “Mama, I squished a bug!”

~*~*~*~

Crystal … now realizes that not intervening when my diaper-less toddler fell asleep on the recliner was a Very Bad Idea. ::sigh::

~*~*~*~

Crystal … has an impatient toddler who’s standing in front of the oven chanting “Beeeeeeeeeeep! Cookies all done, Mama! Please cookies all done!”

~*~*~*~

Crystal … is watching the animated version of “Horton Hears a Who” with Shane. Or, as he calls it, “Blue Yupbahsant TV.”

~*~*~*~

Crystal … has learned reason #17 for why it’s never a good idea to step out of the room while your toddler is eating lunch: they may strip down to their birthday suit and finger-paint all over their body with mac & cheese.

~*~*~*~

Crystal … has discovered reason #271 for why I wish our bathroom door locked securely: Shane JUST discovered the diaper sprayer on the side of the toilet tank. Water, water, everywhere…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2010 11:05 pm

    1. Your kid sounds truly awesome and like such a fun, sweet little guy. 2. I think you’re entitled to a break, though I do like reading your posts. 3. I just signed up with Facebook within the past few months. I was one of the last stragglers. And I still can’t get into it. I don’t think I’ve posted one status update and I feel weird commenting to others. I prefer my little bloggy world, I guess, than my real one. heh

    • November 3, 2010 10:05 am

      1. Awww, thank you! I think he’s pretty sweet…but I’m admittedly biased! =) 2. Thank you — I’ve been enjoying not stressing over blogging, but miss the creative outlet and the bloggy-interaction! 3. I held off for a while, too, then caved when I realized that my closest friends were on it, and they were starting to communicate with each other through Facebook more than e-mails. There’s a group of six of us who have stayed close since high school, even though we’re spread across the country (and one of us now lives over in the UK) so it’s been such a wonderful way to keep in touch. I love my bloggy world, too…but I’ve only let a few very trusted friends even know that I blog, so to keep in touch with most of my “real life” connections, Facebook it is!

  2. October 31, 2010 12:08 am

    How wonderful that you’ve been taking the time to read books! Which titles have been your favorites lately?

    • November 3, 2010 9:55 am

      I’ve been on a historical fiction kick lately, especially the Tudor era (King Henry VIII and his many wives, Queen Mary, Queen Elizabeth). I just read “Innocent Traitor” by Alison Weir, about Lady Jane Gray — the Nine Days Queen. She was crowned after Henry VIII’s death at age 17, and ruled for only 9 days before being deposed by Queen Mary. She had a fascinating but incredibly tragic life, and this book was so incredibly difficult to put down.

      I’ve been reading pregnancy book after pregnancy book as well…The Mayo Clinic’s Guide to Pregnancy is the one I just finished. MUCH better than the horrible “What to Expect” book.

  3. October 31, 2010 9:25 am

    I hear ya – sometimes it’s intimidating trying to put a whole blog post together!

    I am still cracking up over that first Facebook status update! Thankfully, our son wouldn’t pee on the tracks simply because he LOVES THEM SO DARN MUCH that he wouldn’t want to inconvenience his playtime! So instead, he faithfully waters our strawberry plants right outside our back door. Yeaaaaah… I didn’t eat those strawberries this year either!

    Glad you’re enjoying some family time and incubating your little one! Sounds like a perfect autumn to me!

    (And I’m with ya on the politics thing this year… our tv has been staying off and so has the radio… that’s why the Costco thing irked me so badly!)

    Have a great weekend!

    • November 3, 2010 9:36 am

      I wish Shane’s intense love for his train tracks would have kept him from peeing all over them…but I think it was a case of needing to go and not wanting to stop his play (he’s been running around the house diaper-less if it’s one of those lazy stay-at-home days, since we’re working on the whole never-ending potty-training thing). Now I’m nearly peeing myself just thinking of your creatively watered strawberry plants! They say that urine is sterile…but yeah, I think I’d pass on eating them, too!

Leave a Reply

