Skip to content

Simple Pleasures {Healthy Cravings}

October 28, 2010

Countless pints of Ben & Jerry’s Dublin Mudslide ice cream and fast food fried chicken sandwiches. McDonald’s, Wendy’s Burger King, it didn’t matter where it came from as long as I had my fix…I wasn’t picky. Those were my cravings while pregnant with Shane. Not exactly healthy or even slightly nourishing, I’ll be the first to admit.

This pregnancy has been different. I’ve had cravings — dramatic, overwhelming, intense cravings — but not for deep-fried chicken sandwiches or premium ice cream. My cravings have taken on a different form altogether in this pregnancy.

* I’ve mastered making homemade vegetable-filled wontons for Chinese Wonton Soup.
* I’ve simmered dried beans in the crock-pot all day long to satisfy an overwhelming desire for black beans and rice.
* I’ve spent most of a full day prepping and cooking so that I could enjoy falafels (made from real chickpeas rather than a box mix!) with tzatziki, tabbouleh, tomato and cucumber salad, and homemade pitas that evening.

My cravings have me bustling in the kitchen, soiling aprons and kitchen towels, filling the sink with teetering piles of dirty dishes, and sitting down at the kitchen table with meals that I’m proud to feed to my family.

My cravings haven’t only been confined to meals that involve intensive prep work…I’m eating apples by the bushel. Sweet, juicy, fresh, local Cortland apples from the orchard only minutes from my home. I’m easily eating two, three, four a day.

What I truly can not get enough of, though, are avocados. Sliced and drizzled with fresh lemon juice, sprinkled lightly with ground black pepper and sea salt…it’s absolute bliss.

Having such interesting and healthy cravings this time around are a simple pleasure that I’m enjoying to the fullest!

: : : : :

Today I’m linking up with Dayle at A Collection of This and That.

Project Simple Pleasures2

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 2:36 pm

    Oh Yum! As a vegetarian, every food item that you just mentioned sounds absolutely delish to me. I made a boxed falafel the other nite and it was just awful. I really should learn to make them on my own. Of course we could go anywhere in Kuwait to get them but it is so much better to make meals at home. Avocado is one of my most favorite and I eat one just about every day. That’s gonna be one healthy, happy baby. Hope you are having a terrific day. 🙂 Tammy

  2. October 28, 2010 2:46 pm

    I love avacados too! I could use some MORE healthy cravings though. Sounds like you’re on the right track. Thanks for this post reminding me that I’ve got 2 avacados waiting to be used for dinner tonight. 🙂 Blessings!

  3. October 28, 2010 4:03 pm

    Oh, do I love sliced avocado with salt!!! Haven’t used pepper yet, but I love to smash it and put it on toast, as well. This is such a delicious image!

  4. October 28, 2010 4:16 pm

    Oh yes … avocados are one of my favorite things to eat, and what a wonderful simple pleasure. Sounds like you’ve got a healthy pregnancy going on, too.

    So happy you joined us today.

  5. October 28, 2010 5:51 pm

    Another avocado person here! I don’t have them all that often because I’m the only one around here who likes them. I think it’s just wonderful that you are having healthy cravings. You must feel pretty terrific on top of it.

  6. October 29, 2010 10:50 pm

    I can’t believe I am admitting this, but I’ve never eaten an alvacado. Are they good?

    Anyhow, they must be….

    I craved fruit like crazy with Jonathan too. how far along are you now?

    • October 30, 2010 11:20 am

      I love avocado, even when not pregnant. And now I can’t get enough of them! They have a kind of creamy texture, and are so tasty smooshed up into guacamole, or just sliced and sprinkled w/ salt & pepper. Oh, and lemon juice! But that may be a weird pregnancy thing….

      I’m 21 weeks now. Can’t believe I’m over half-way there already — the last several months have blown by!

      Fruit is a great craving to have while pregnant — that’s what my sister craved when she was expecting my niece. We were pregnant at the same time, and I’d watch her daintily eat her fruit salad while I was inhaling fried chicken sandwiches. So glad I’m wanting healthier foods this time around!

  7. October 30, 2010 8:58 pm

    What a wonderful pleasure cooking and eating healty for you and the baby the picture looks tastey …blessing to you
    thanks for sharing

  8. October 31, 2010 12:06 am

    That’s a great avocado picture – mmm.

Trackbacks

  1. Simple Pleasures «

Leave a Reply

