Skip to content

Simple Pleasures {Sing Out Loud}

October 20, 2010

His little voice rises above the murmur of the adults in the room as he breaks into song, enthusiastically strumming on my cousin’s outgrown toy guitar.

He sings from his heart — for his loved ones, for himself.
He sings with pure pleasure, reveling in music he’s making, in the song he’s creating.

He’s uninhibited, joyous, confident.
Inspiring.
Humbling.

When did I stop singing in public? When did I start holding back my own songs?

There’s such simple pleasure to be found in breaking out in song,
such freedom in letting it bubble up from deep within.

I hope to nurture and nourish that innocent confidence that my son so naturally possesses,
so that he doesn’t ever start stifling his song…
…and maybe through his example, I can relearn how to not stifle my own.

: : : : :

Today I’m linking up with Dayle at A Collection of This and That.

Project Simple Pleasures2

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 11:00 pm

    Everything about this post is a joy! The writing. The subject. The photo. The message. Just wow! Thanks so much for sharing this with the Simple Pleasures crowd. I love it.

  2. October 20, 2010 11:02 pm

    So sweet! After linking up to Dayle’s, I started visiting. You will be amazed how our posts relate to one another. Joining you at Simple Pleasures.

  3. October 21, 2010 2:01 am

    Oh yes- let it bubble up! This post and your lovely photo remind me of my boys when they were little. Praise God they still break out in song and the freedom music of their hearts. Whatever you do -don’t let the music die-it’s a very precious gift! What a wonderful simple pleasure..children and music 🙂 Pure joy! blessings..Trish

  4. October 21, 2010 2:28 am

    Yes, so true.

  5. October 21, 2010 10:09 am

    What an adorable post, And yes sing! sing! sing!.
    Sue

  6. skoots1mom permalink
    October 21, 2010 12:16 pm

    shining HIS light…so precious!

  7. October 21, 2010 12:28 pm

    I want to shout AMEN to this one. I think inclusive in coming to Him as a child is to never, ever lose the childlike abandon in worship and praise.

    I want to sing like your son too!

  8. October 21, 2010 12:28 pm

    such a great post, and oh so true…sometimes we can learn so much from our children. 🙂

    Hope your having a blessed day!
    Cindy

  9. October 21, 2010 1:25 pm

    what touched me the most was “maybe through his example, I can relearn how to not stifle my own.” My children have helped me become free…..I am so grateful to them for that.

  10. October 21, 2010 7:02 pm

    Yes. and Amen.

  11. October 21, 2010 7:26 pm

    I am so glad that God allowed my daughter to nourish her God-given talent and now sings praises to God in her church! Always hear the children and let God work through them!
    Love your post for Simple Pleasures!

    ~Jean

  12. October 21, 2010 8:19 pm

    Humbling, indeed! Oh, for the inhibitions of childlike faith!

  13. October 22, 2010 7:57 am

    I wonder this about myself too! Then I realize I’ve been singing out loud to the radio in my office and wonder how *long* I’ve been doing it. Ha!

    I love the inhibition of children. My daughter sings all day long and I just love it. I also love to see and hear people sing spontaneously because they just can’t help themselves, almost especially when they’re “bad” singers, but they just don’t care. They just want to sing.

    Love this post!

Leave a Reply

