Skip to content

Simple Pleasures {Flutters and Thumps}

September 30, 2010

Unrelenting nausea
Exhaustion
Insomnia
Sciatica
Food aversions
Round ligament pain
Carpel tunnel syndrome
A bladder the size of an acorn
And did I mention the exhaustion?

It’s easy to get caught up in the day-to-day discomforts of pregnancy.

And yet, with each little flutter, all those discomforts fade into the background.

Each subtle little thump leaves me in awe,
marveling over what a miracle and a blessing it is to be nurturing this tiny life within.

: : : : :

Today I’m linking up with Dayle at A Collection of This and That.

Project Simple Pleasures2

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 8:33 pm

    Awww … how sweet. I have a niece who’s expecting her first baby in December. Special times.

  2. September 30, 2010 11:39 pm

    I love how you are keeping everything in “perspective.” Pregnancy can be rough, but the miracle of it makes all of the discomforts worthwhile.

    P.S. I just published a post about morning sickness on my blog tonight.

  3. October 1, 2010 2:14 pm

    I remember those days very well, even though it was a very long time ago. I didn’t completely enjoy being pregnant but those first flutters were so magical!

  4. October 1, 2010 2:20 pm

    Oh, I’m SO GLAD that I checked back by the party and saw that I hadn’t seen yours. I love it. I can’t imagine a simple pleasure better than this one.

    Ah yes, I remember it well…

  5. October 1, 2010 11:35 pm

    ugh…was just talking toa friend today about how much I did not like being pregnant…which surprised me as I always wanted kids. but the ends justified the means. 🙂

  6. October 1, 2010 11:37 pm

    oh and I had the worst carpal tunnel…I would cry as I mowed the lawn – even shifting the car hurt -and finally just gave it up…the thing it did was give me sympathy for people who get surgery for it before that I just thought they were kinda wimpy

  7. October 2, 2010 12:11 pm

    Love this! I was so grateful for every little reminder that I was carrying a little miracle inside me! I miss that. You look lovely!

Leave a Reply

