Skip to content

10 Reasons Why I’m Glad it’s Fall

September 29, 2010

1. Crisp autumn air…and pulling all the cozy sweaters and cute jackets out of storage!

2. Brilliant autumn colors, and the crunch of leaves underfoot.

3. Comfort food — crock-pot beef stew, white chicken chili, baked mac & cheese, meatloaf, chicken pot pies, and my Grammy’s tuna noodle casserole.

4. Being able to bake again — during the height of summer, our apartment gets unbearably hot (even with the A.C. cranking) whenever we use the oven.

5. Apple picking…which of course means plenty of apple pie, apple sauce, apple crisp, and sauteed apple rings over vanilla ice cream!

6. Our yearly tradition of painting (rather than carving) pumpkins.


2010’s pumpkin is yet to be painted…

7. Speaking of pumpkins: pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread, pumpkin soup, pumpkin doughnuts, actually…pumpkin anything!

8. Homemade Halloween costumes.


Shane’s costume last Halloween…he was my little Wild Thing!

9. Butternut Squash Bread.  Num!

10. Country fairs — fried dough, soup in bread bowls, and caramel apples…need I say more?!

* Huh.  Six out of ten reasons for why I love autumn primarily revolve around food.  I’m not quite sure what to make about that…but I’m pregnant, so you can be sure that I’m going to indulge in my every delicious autumn desire!

: : : : :

Mama's Losin' ItPrompt from Writer’s Workshop,
which is hosted weekly on Mama’s Losin’ It.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Michele in Salem permalink
    September 29, 2010 7:41 am

    oh my goodness, Shane is the cutest little wild thing I’ve ever seen! I think I love fall for all the same reasons…

    • September 29, 2010 12:35 pm

      Thank you! I thought he made a pretty adorable Wild Thing…but then again, I know I’m a little biased! 🙂

  2. September 29, 2010 11:09 am

    Will you come make my big explorer’s Halloween costume?! 🙂 I love fall, too, though we need the heat to break around here before it’ll start feeling like it.

    • September 29, 2010 12:37 pm

      You should see the stress and tears that costume caused! My biggest issue is thinking way too big…then putting it off until the last minute.
      When do you start getting autumn-ish weather? The trees are turning here already, but then summer got a bit of a second wind!

  3. September 29, 2010 12:07 pm

    congrats! and I love the top pic of your son with writing on his face. my son looks like that most of the time too…the other day it was makeup…lots of makeup I thought I was never going to be able to get off.

    I love fall too but now we are moving to atlanta so I’m not sure how fallish we will have.

    • September 29, 2010 12:43 pm

      It gets better…those scribbles you noticed on his face extended down his chest, down his thighs to his knees, and he somehow even managed to get a few good marks on his back! And he managed to strip down to his birthday suit and decorate himself in the amount of time it took me to move the laundry over from the washer to the dryer! ::sigh::

      My little brother got into my mom’s make-up one time, and I was the one who discovered him. He’s 24 now, and we still gently tease him about that from time to time! Honestly, I can’t really blame children when they get into markers or make-up like our boys — in their perspective, what a fun way that is to express a little creativity! 🙂

      I have family who live about an hour outside of Atlanta, and I now they’ve gotten snow in the past, so you may still be enjoying mild autumns. I hope your move goes smoothly for you & our family!

  4. September 30, 2010 7:47 am

    I’m with you … fall is about comfort food. And that Wild Thing Halloween costume is the cutest thing ever! I love it! And your pumpkin painting looks incredibly messy … but incredibly fun. Yay for fall!

    Visiting from Mama Kats…

    • October 1, 2010 8:07 am

      Thanks for stopping by! The pumpkin painting does get crazily messy — my little guy goes right into the tub after, and the mop comes out as well…but it’s completely worth it!

  5. September 30, 2010 11:37 pm

    It doesn’t feel like fall here yet (99 degrees today!), but we are eagerly awaiting it.

    I love fall foods too – beef stew, apple crisp, pumpkin pie, etc.

    Also – I’m impressed that you made your son’s costume! What will he be this year?

    • October 1, 2010 8:09 am

      There’s something so comforting about fall foods, isn’t there?

      This year he’s going to be Han Solo…and I’m not quite sure yet how I’ll be able to pull it off, but I’ve got to try. He mispronounces his name as “Han,” so how could I not take advantage of that cuteness?!

  6. October 1, 2010 8:42 pm

    I love that you paint pumpkins, we do too. my husband really dislikes the stringy-gooy mess of carving pumpkins.

Leave a Reply

