Skip to content

Ten Things

September 20, 2010

After the events of the past week, I’m fighting against my nature to wallow in feelings of stress, anxiety, and worry.

I know that I need to refocus, to center myself, and to recall all that I am grateful for, all that is positive in my life.  So with this desire to discover a new perspective, here’s a new List of Ten.

Ten things, both momentous and mundane, that have brought joy and peace to my life.
Ten things to remind me of all that is good, right here and now.
Ten things that I am grateful to have experienced this week.

~~~~~~~~~


1.  This morning’s incredibly reassuring follow-up appointment with my primary care doctor.

2.  Listening to Shane’s sweet voice as he sings his heart out to a hysterically diverse variety of songs, ranging from Dem Bones to The Wheels on the Bus, from Laurie Berkner’s Moon, Moon, Moon to his wordless rendition of the theme song for the American version of “The Office.”

3. Being home again with my husband and son, and cherishing all the mundane, routine, and incredibly precious moments of our days together.

4. A pile of books on loan from friends and borrowed from the library, waiting to be read.

5. Sharing an entire fresh, juicy honeydew melon with my little man as our afternoon snack.

6. Sleeping in my own bed, snuggled up with my husband, where I belong.

7. Overstuffed vases of vibrant autumn blooms.

8. Shane’s new love of all things Dr. Seuss, especially Horton the Elephant (or “Blue Yup-bah-sant,” as Shane calls him).

9. The warmth and support and love of my husband, our families, and some truly remarkable friends.

10. An abundance of strong, comforting hugs from my husband, and sloppy kisses from my son.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 3:36 pm

    You’ll have to let us know which of those birthing books end up being your favorite.

    We just had the BEST honeydew melon a few weeks ago too. It must be the season for them.

    • September 29, 2010 12:51 pm

      That’s not a bad idea, jotting down my thoughts about the various pregnancy/childbirth books I’m reading during this journey, and sharing them. When I was pregnant w/ Shane, the only book I really read was “What to Expect…” and more often than not that book left me absolutely terrified and doubting my own innate abilities. This time around I’m searching out more empowering books, and feel as though I’m heading into this birth much more confidant and capable.

      I think it is prime honeydew/cantaloupe season — so I’m taking full advantage! We’ve already devoured another one of each since I posted this! 🙂

  2. November 6, 2010 2:00 am

    Found your blog from the NaBloPoMo blogroll and the picture of the Natural Childbirth books caught my eye. Have you read Ina Mae’s Guide to Childbirth? I loved this book. It’s definitely empowering! Check it out if you haven’t read it.

    • November 6, 2010 10:48 am

      I have read some of Ina May’s book — what an inspiring, empowering collection of birth stories! A friend loaned it to me not long after I found out that I was expecting again, and I read about the first half of the book. I’m going to borrow it again in my last month or so and reread…I think that will be the positive affirmation that I’ll need then, as I’m planning a VBAC this time around. Thank you so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

