Skip to content

A Change in Perspective

June 17, 2010

In the interest of complete honesty…I’m not always sunshine and roses like this blog can make me seem.  I actually have a tendency towards pessimism, towards getting caught up in focusing on the negatives.  There are days when I wallow in an oh-woe-is-me attitude, when I can easily think of countless things that could possibly – or that already have – gone wrong.

I waste too much time dwelling.

And I don’t like that about myself.

I don’t want to be that person, the kind of person who lets negativity wear her down.

You don’t often see that here. While I didn’t have a goal or a nitch in mind when I began blogging, this space has gradually become the place where I focus on all there is to cherish in my daily life. This blog has become more than just a blog– it’s become my way of changing my perspective, my attitude, myself.

As time passes, I’m finding myself learning to slow down and savor the moments of my life as they are lived. I’m learning to discover the joy and light and miracles in even the most ordinary, mundane days. And even at the tail end of one of those Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Days, when I sit down at the computer and settle into my thoughts, I’m now usually able to find some shimmering nugget of wonder that was hidden in the midst of all the day’s chaos.  And with time, with practice, this outlook is becoming more and more natural to me.

While catching up on my blog reading today, I came across Amanda’s post in which she listed ten things that were bringing her joy in that particular moment.

That’s exactly what I needed today, a reminder to change perspective, to recognize all that I have to be grateful for in this moment. Because it all comes down to choice — I can choose to focus on the negative, or I can make the choice to savor all that is wonderful in my life.

And I want to make a conscious decision to go with the later.

Here’s my list of ten things:

  1. Fresh cut flowers in glass bottles and jars, lined up on my kitchen windowsill.
  2. Shane’s giggles in the pool this morning, when he finally relaxed and began to enjoy his swim lessons.
  3. Old heirloom rose bushes.
  4. Stumbling across a recipe online for homemade chai tea that uses red raspberry leaf and nettle. Yum!
  5. Dancing with my little guy until we both collapse in giggles.
  6. Ice cream for lunch. ‘Nuff said.
  7. The limitless hope and possibilities represented in our budding garden.
  8. Enjoying fresh strawberries at breakfast, lunch and dinner!
  9. An upcoming, much-needed date night with my husband.
  10. Curling up beside Shane with my book as he naps in my bed, drifting off to sleep in an unexpected (but very welcomed) cat nap, and then waking before he does so I can still enjoy some mid-day quiet and peace.

Just typing this out has left me smiling — I may revisit this type of post as needed in the future!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 4:33 pm

    What kind of ice cream is your favorite? Do you make your own…or do you prefer a certain brand…or do you just like ANY and ALL ice cream? 🙂

    • June 24, 2010 4:54 pm

      I’ll eat any & all ice cream. I’m not picky! 🙂
      I’ve tried to make homemade icecream in the past, with an ice cream maker that never worked, no matter what I tried. My in-laws gave us this ice cream ball for Christmas that you roll around in the yard, so we’re going to give that a try this week. Wish me luck…

  2. June 18, 2010 7:29 pm

    Great list of ten!

    Nell

Trackbacks

  1. Ten Things «

Leave a Reply

