Skip to content

To Get A Moment’s Peace

June 5, 2010

Yesterday I had little time to breathe.

I was woken long before the sun rose. While I was able to settle Shane back to sleep for a few more hours, I wasn’t able to settle myself down, and found myself laying in bed with a hyperactive mind.

Just as I was starting to let go of my thoughts and drifting off, Shane was up again, ready to tackle the day with his typical two-year-old gusto. And I spent the morning trying desperately, unsuccessfully, to keep up.

It was just one of those days. You know these days…disorganized, hectic, exhausting. I spent the morning just feeling impatient and short-tempered and irritated. Nothing was going the way I had planned or hoped. Nothing felt right.

It was one of those days when, pre-parenthood, I would have seriously contemplated crawling back into bed…giving up on this day, hoping tomorrow would be better.

As a mother, that’s just not an option. So I trudged on.

Shane wouldn’t/couldn’t/didn’t nap. My only hope of finding any quiet, any peace, any space, vanished with the shrieks and squeals of my toddler bounding around his bedroom like a human pogo stick.

So back outdoors we went. I spread out a blanket and laid down with a book, while Shane busied himself with damp sand and a dump truck in the sandbox nearby. And I was able to read a total of a half a page before he bolted from his play area, running for the little hillside nearby.

All he wanted to roll down the hill.
All I wanted was to sit with my book, to have a few minutes that were mine and mine alone.

Shane scrambled to the top of the hill, plopped down, and tumbled and giggled his way down the hillside.  Landing at the bottom in a tangle of limbs, he dizzily stood up and staggered back up.  As he neared the top he paused and called down to me,  “Mama, come! Mama ‘oll down!”

I shook my head, crossed my arms, said no.
“Shane, you roll. Mama will watch.”

He shook his head, crossed his arms, and said no.
“Mama do! Mama ‘oll!  Pwease, pwease, pwease…”

He pleaded,
and begged,
and pouted,
and nagged.

So I begrudgingly climbed up the hill and laid down in the grass. If rolling down the hill was what I needed to do to get a moment’s peace, then so be it.

With that thought, I let go and rolled…
and landed in a laughing, tangled heap at the bottom of the hill,
with my head crazily spinning and the clover tickling my face
and my son crashing into my side, shaking with laughter.

We snuggled and laughed,
untangled ourselves,
and scrambled back up the hill to do it again.

He was right.
Rolling down the hill was what I needed to do to get a moment’s peace.

It’s amazing what you can learn about life from a toddler,
when you open yourself up to what they have to share.

: : : : :

PhotoStory Friday

Please check out more of this week’s Photo Story Friday submissions on My Chaos My Bliss.
(I know, I know…I’m late this week.  Photobucket was not my friend last night).

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    June 5, 2010 12:12 pm

    This entry made me smile :).

  2. June 5, 2010 5:16 pm

    Hello There!!! You just won the 4 Little Green Books for your man at Safe Home Happy Mom, send me an email and we’ll have that routed to you!!! Have a great weekend!

    blessing@safehomehappymom.com

  3. June 5, 2010 10:38 pm

    What a wonderful post! I so appreciate your candor at sharing what it often feels like to be the parent of a 2 year old. I must admit, you have me dying to go rolling down the hill with my kids! I’m glad you took Shane up on his offer — a memory you won’t soon forget! 🙂

  4. June 7, 2010 6:18 am

    You have such a good way with words! I was rolling down the hill with you both! Now excuse me while I go wash the grass stains off my knees…..

  5. June 7, 2010 2:20 pm

    So glad you gave in and rolled! I did that last year with my kids and my crazy niece (who happened to be like 19 at the time) So we rolled and rolled and had a blast not to mention were very dizzy. Sometime we just need to let it all go and play, huh?!

  6. June 7, 2010 10:07 pm

    I just said to my son “This is an awesome post!” And it is. The three year old doesn’t really care, but I’ve stopped and done stuff like this with Jonathan and I totally love it! It’s almost 11 p.m. and he wants to play Iron Man. He took a tour nap earlier and now he’s wound up. I want him to go to bed, but I guess ten minutes of Iron Man can’t hurt.

  7. June 8, 2010 3:32 am

    love it.

  8. June 8, 2010 6:12 pm

    Awesome post and beautiful photographs!

  9. June 11, 2010 4:09 pm

    What a good mama you are! I have often discovered the same thing – If I let go of my “grown-up” expectations and just have fun with my tinies, it never fails that my day is filled with joy and laughter.

Leave a Reply

