Skip to content

Homemade Playdough

May 20, 2010

After making playdough with Shane yesterday, I thought I’d share the recipe that I use.

I can’t remember where the original recipe came from.  It may have been my first co-teacher, or one of my college professors, or maybe the kindergarten teacher who supervised me during my student teaching semester.  I know I had it early on in my own teaching career, and tweaked it here or there over the years.

I remembering reducing the salt and tweaked the amount of oil (I think I had slightly increased what the original recipe called for).  To be honest, I can’t remember exactly what I changed or why, but the resulting recipe that I use today makes the most incredibly soft and pliable playdough.  Playdough that lasts forever without morphing into hard, dry crumbles (as long as you keep it sealed in an airtight container, of course!)   Playdough that feels so good in your hands that I would happily sit with the children in my classroom and work with it all morning if they’d let me.

: : : : : :

Ingredients:

3 cups water
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
3 cups flour
1 cup salt
2 tablespoons cream of tartar
Several drops of food coloring – added to the water

Combine all ingredients into a large bowl and mix together well.

Pour mixture into a large pan (I find that non-stick pans are best for cooking playdough. If your pan is not non-stick, coat thoroughly with non-stick spray or vegetable oil first).

Cook mixture over medium-low, stirring continuously, until mixture thickens and starts to pull away from the sides of the pan.

Remove from heat, form dough into a ball, and place on a cutting board to cool.

Once the dough is cool enough to touch, knead until it reaches a smooth, playdough-like consistency.

Ingredients:
3 cups water
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
3 cups flour
1 1/2 cups salt
2 tablespoons cream of tartar
Several drops of food coloring – added to the water

Directions:

Combine all ingredients into a large bowl and mix together well. Pour mixture into a large pan (I find that non-stick pans are best for cooking playdough. If your pan is not non-stick, coat thoroughly with non-stick spray or vegetable oil first).

Cook mixture over medium-low, stirring continuously, until mixture thickens and starts to pull away from the sides of the pan.

Remove from heat, form dough into a ball, and place on a cutting board to cool. Once the dough is cool enough to touch, knead until it reaches a smooth, playdough-like consistency.

Once the dough is cool enough to touch, knead until it reaches a smooth, playdough-like consistency.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 4:16 pm

    I loved making playdough when the kids were smaller. Something we did once was to put some fine glitter in with the flour so you get sparkly dough! Another lovely thing was putting a couple of drops of childsafe essential oil in like lavender or tangerine. This made for soothing smells while playing. Happy playdoughing if that’s a word!

  2. May 21, 2010 8:49 pm

    Playdough! Whoo hoo! That looks like a blast! I have to look at the recipe too!

  3. May 21, 2010 8:50 pm

    I meant to right… I need to read the recipe and write it down. I’m typing way too fast. Love the photos!

Leave a Reply

