Skip to content

Photo Story Friday {Like Mama Do}

May 14, 2010

Introductions and small talk were made as we waited for everyone to arrive.  Our children tumbled together in the grass, gathered fist-fulls of cheerful dandelions, and searched for small stones to share as precious gifts for their new friends.  It was our first hike at a local wildlife sanctuary, the first meet-up of a newly started group of local moms who want to share a love of nature by hiking together with their children.

There were eight of us: three moms, one father, four toddlers.  Bug spray and sunscreen was liberally applied to squirming, escaping children.  Shane watched with wide, eager eyes as his new friends settled safely into carriers on their parent’s backs.  “Do you want to walk, or go on Mama’s back like Rose and Toby and Lucas?”  He glanced over at his buddies, then tugged gently on the mei tai I was holding in my hands.  “Mama back” he decided.  So up he went.

We walked into the woods, over a boardwalk that crossed wetlands, and around a pond teeming with life.  We marveled in the wildlife we encountered — squirrels and chipmunks, snakes and water bugs, a muskrat and a weasel, bluebirds and a snowy egret, and a hungry Canadian goose who greedily ate all the bread we had to offer.

That evening Shane chattered non-stop around mouthfuls of his dinner, sharing details of the day’s adventures with my husband and I.  “Goose!  Hissssssss! Eat bread!   Ooooooooh…BIG  ‘nake!    More big ‘nake!   My Mama back…Yay!”

When he was done eating, after first being stripped from his spaghetti-spattered clothes, Shane made a bee-line for his toy box.  There was a flurry of digging, and toys being tossed this way and that, then a muffled cheer. He came scampering back with Doh (his bear) clutched under one arm and his toy mei tai trailing behind him.  “Please Doh back.  Like Mama do!”

Melt my heart.

: : : : : :

PhotoStory Friday

Please check out more of this week’s Photo Story Friday submissions
on My Chaos My Bliss.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 1:41 am

    How cool that you’re exploring nature with a hiking group of like-minded mamas! Looks like you and the little guy had an amazing time! 🙂

  2. May 15, 2010 10:42 am

    Oh my goodness – how darling is that?!?!

    I love his little conversations (that age is just a delight) and his retelling of his day!

    Unbearably sweet (no pun intended) that he wanted to carry his bear the same way he’s enjoyed his day!

    Love the photos!!

  3. May 15, 2010 6:46 pm

    Oh so precious! I just love it! What a great thing to get him outside and enjoying nature!

  4. May 15, 2010 11:20 pm

    So sweet!

    And how fun that you went out hiking with toddlers in tow! Will this be a weekly/regular “club” of sorts?

    • May 16, 2010 9:00 am

      The woman who started this group said that she hopes that there will be one or two hikes on the calendar each week. I’m hoping that Shane & I will be be able to participate as often as we can, depending on where the hikes are located and when they’re planned.

  5. May 16, 2010 11:39 am

    That is the sweetest thing! And what a fun group!

  6. May 16, 2010 8:30 pm

    That looks like a great day out. I get the feeling that this group of Mums are going to have lots in common… similar aged kids, an interest in the outdoors. I see some good times and some potential great new friends on the horizon. You look really happy in the photo and I love the photos at the end where he copies you with teddy!

  7. Heather permalink
    May 18, 2010 10:46 pm

    This is great!!

    I thought about hauling out my Babyhawk and trying Shea on my back, but he hasn’t been worn in over a year, and flat out refuses anything but walking, (“SHEA WALK!!” means, “Dude, let go of my hand, I promise I won’t take off!!” Which of course means precisely the opposite, usually accompanied by, “Here, let me knock over this display of batteries.”). I’m not sure he’d go for it (and he weighs a good 32-33 pounds now!! Which is actually down a bit since he stopped nursing).

    I think it’s so great Shane was so proud of both you and himself, it’s clearly something very special between you :).

  8. May 19, 2010 8:11 am

    “SHEA WALK!!” means, “Dude, let go of my hand, I promise I won’t take off!!” Which of course means precisely the opposite, usually accompanied by, “Here, let me knock over this display of batteries.”
    Omigod I’m dying laughing here just picturing this!

    Shane was less-than-thrilled the first time I wrestled him into the mei tai this spring (ever had a toddler tantrum while hog-tied to your back. Ow…) but once he settled down he seemed to remember he loved it! Was patting my back & hair and saying “Oh, Hi-lo Mama!”

    He’s just 25 lbs now (my peanut!!) so I can still wear him without killing my back. I don’t know what we’ll do once he’s too heavy to wear but still too young to really hike. That’ll be a sad summer!

Leave a Reply

