Skip to content

Getting Dirty

April 27, 2010

After my college graduation, I quickly found a job as a preschool teacher at a local daycare center.  I loved working with preschoolers, loved planning a curriculum that engaged the children, and loved experiencing their absolute exuberance and eagerness to explore the world they lived in.

My strengths were in planning activities – art, science, cooking, sensory – in which the kids usually wound up getting dirty. They had hands on involvement, got messy, and gained so much in the process.  The majority of the parents loved what I did with the children in my care.

Photobucket

But then, there was that one mother…

Her daughter was in my first preschool class.  She was adorable little girl with perfect pigtails that cascaded down in ringlets, and a different, seemingly brand-new, flouncy dress every day she attended.  Every morning, after helping her daughter out of her coat and tucking her lunch bag snug in her cubby, this mother would lean down, give her daughter a kiss, hug her tight, and then remind her, “Now don’t you get dirty today!  That’s a new dress you’re wearing…”

She’d pull a chair over to better see her classmates splashing at the water table, but would recoil in horror if I offered her a smock and encouraged her to join in.  She’d carefully color with crayons, but wouldn’t touch paint.  She’d sit gingerly on the edge of the sandbox and poke listlessly at the sand with the tip of a plastic shovel.  And whenever someone would try to engage her in a potentially messy activity, she’d pull back and insist, “I no get dirdy!”

Photobucket

And this little girl never got dirty.  Well, no, that’s a lie.  One day while she was quietly watching another child create a vibrant masterpiece at the easel, she must have leaned in too close, and got side-swiped by the paintbrush. And then she wept.  Gut-wrenching, heart-breaking sobs as she cried, “ Oh no!  Dress dirdy!  I no get dirdy!”

She wasn’t with us long.  Within just a month’s time her mother pulled her from our center, saying that she decided to enroll her someplace “more academic.”  But the shy, wistful gaze this little girl had, as she watched other children laughing, exploring, and getting dirty, haunted me long after she left my classroom.

I don’t want to ever do that to my son.  When Shane heads off on a new adventure, I don’t want to hold him back. I hope to always remember to give him a kiss, to hug him tight, and then to remind him to have fun, explore, and not be afraid to get good and dirty…because that’s how you learn, and that’s how you truly live life to the fullest.

Photobucket

Photobucket

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    April 27, 2010 10:58 pm

    I’ve also seen parents like this.

    But my favourite parent comment about that was this: “I like it when she comes home dirty. It means she had fun. I’d be more concerned if she came home clean!”

    (Unrelated, but also a good one, “That’s why they call them toddlers.” in response to the toppling of one of the other children.)

  2. April 27, 2010 11:05 pm

    Love this! And love the photos that accompany. Some of my best childhood memories are playing in the dirt and sand.

  3. April 28, 2010 7:24 am

    That poor child! I let Jonathan get into whatever he wants and have fun while he’s doing it. If that means he’s a muddy mess after wards then so be it. I love your philosophy and I love those photos!

  4. April 28, 2010 9:37 am

    Thank you for stopping by last week and commenting on my favorite foods post. I ‘m just finally making the rounds!

    What a sad story about that little girl!! I internally cringe when my kids come home from daycare and their clothes look like an experiment gone wrong, but I would never sacrifice their learning, their fun, or enjoyment for clean clothes.

Leave a Reply

