Skip to content

True Story Tuesday — No More Peas for Dinner

April 20, 2010

I know that I shouldn’t complain about this:  my son loves vegetables.  Loves them.  Lunges to pluck the tomato wedges from our salads.  He cheers with excitement when we have corn on the cob. He’s turned up his nose at birthday cake in favor of broccoli florets.  He’s even been known to ask for vegetables for snacks.  Just this morning, he managed to pull open the freezer (we have a  freezer drawer on the bottom of our fridge), dug out a bag of frozen corn, and then begged for a snack.  “Eat corn, puh-ease!”

Loving vegetables has never been considered a bad thing. 

This past weekend we were enjoying dinner at my in-law’s.  Grilled steak, baked potatoes, and mounds of peas — delicious, vibrantly green, petite sweet peas.  Shane was devouring those peas.   Two-fisting them.  Inhaling them while murmuring “Nummy” and “Gooooooood peas” around mouthfuls. 

He was remarkably calm, when he smiled up at me and said, “Uh oh, Mama.  Pea stuck.”

I was a little slow on the uptake.  “Wha….?!”

He repeated himself, “Pea stuck.  Nose!” And just in case I still wasn’t following, he pointed deliberately at his nose…by plunging one finger up a nostril. 

I leapt up out of my chair, plucked his finger out of his nose, and tilted his head back so I could peer up his nostrils.  And there it was — one vibrantly green, very round, very small green pea…shoved up inside his nose, right where he said it was.

I know in the grand scheme of childhood dramas, a pea up the nose is a minor issue, and freaking out should be saved for more serious events.  Events that involve bones or blood or what have you.  I wish I could say I remained calm.  I wish I could say I handled the situation well… 

…but, if I said that, I’d be lying.  I freaked.  Completely wigged out, with an over abundance of hand-wringing, arm-flailing, melodramatic “what-do-we-do?!?”-ing, and other assorted Chicken-Little-like behavior.

Unfortunately, Mommy’s panic quickly shattered Shane’s calm demeanor.  His face quickly crumpled, and he burst into frightened tears.  On the bright side…as soon as he started crying, he actually managed to sob his pea right out of his nose.

Crisis averted.  Now if only I could learn to control my own melodramatic impulses…

Photobucket

: : : : : : : :

Linking up with this week’s True Story Tuesday’s
over at Once Upon a Miracle.
Now head on over there to check out other amazingly embarrassing, side-splittingly funny, or completely unbelievable true stories!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 9:19 pm

    Snorting peas?????

    There out to be a law!!!!! ROFL

    great TST!

  2. April 20, 2010 10:49 pm

    I have the same tendency to get overly dramatic when faced with “crisis” situations. Sometimes it’s hard to stay calm. My brother has asthma and when he was little he stuck one of his allergy capsules up his nose. He thought it would work better that way! My mom had to take him to the doctor and they were able to remove it.

  3. April 21, 2010 2:07 pm

    Classic. My son had one of those foam alphabet puzzles, which he liked to rip apart into pieces. One of those pieces seemed to fit perfectly up his nostril. Which I didn’t realize until later when he sneezed it out, completely gross and covered in slime.

  4. April 21, 2010 3:14 pm

    Ha ha ha ha ha! Oh my goodness!

    So glad he/you managed to get it out with your teamwork!

    (Sorry, I am a bad mom and probably would have gotten the camera out to document it for posterity and bloggy friends too!)

    As it is, you may have gotten off easy with a lesson for the little guy (he’ll be less likely to stick vegetables up his nose anytime soon, right?) – my poor mother had to take my little sister to get a tiny SHELL cut out of her nose… ouch!

    Thanks for linking up!

Leave a Reply

