Skip to content

Beach Sand

April 11, 2010
  • Surprisingly warm sun and a refreshing sea breeze.
  • Collecting and examining bleached shells and twisted driftwood.
  • Gathering clumps of dried, tangled seaweed, to wildly toss back at the waves.
  • Silken sand spilling from between little fingers.
  • Sea gulls lazily escaping from a shrieking, laughing, chasing toddler.

  • It was a picture-perfect morning…and one that will have to live in my memories.
    Unfortunately, my camera batteries didn’t last past our first five minutes on the beach.


    So I’ll hold these memories close,
    cherish the warmth and joy they contain,
    and hope that they don’t slip away like beach sand through my fingers.

    Photobucket

     Photobucket

     
    Photobucket

     

    To read the full text of poem painted on the boardwalk steps,
    as seen in the photos above, click here.

    6 Comments leave one →
    1. April 12, 2010 7:47 pm

      What a beautiful series of photos! I love the contrast of the red against all the browns.

      FYI- The book blog hop will close Thurs. April 15th at noon. 🙂

    2. April 13, 2010 1:21 pm

      It wasn’t until I saw the third picture– the one without the text– that I realized that you’d edited the poem onto the steps in teh first two shots! They look beautiful– you could sell those!

      ~Elizabeth

      • April 13, 2010 3:13 pm

        Thank you so much! I can’t take credit for the idea of having lines of the poem on each stair riser…they’re actually painted right on the steps and other wooden structures at the beach. It’s a pretty amazing project, and as we were heading up over the boardwalk and I saw those stanzas, I knew I had to look up the entire poem online as soon as we got home!

        • April 13, 2010 4:54 pm

          You saw it also on my blog a few months ago… (you commented…)
          Lovely poem and sentiments.

        • April 13, 2010 5:04 pm

          That’s where I saw it before! I knew I have having this wierd sense of deja vu when we were heading up the steps, but couldn’t place it. You always have such a lovely way with words & photos, so I’m going to poke back through your archives to find that post — I bet I loved it when I read it!

    3. April 13, 2010 3:54 pm

      I love those photos! I thought you edited the poem into it too – and I loved it! Then I realized that someone had actually painted it on those steps and that totally rocks!

      I love that very first picture – like Shane is heading to some new adventure and you can just imagine the amazing view once you get to the top.

      Darn camera batteries, LOL! 🙂

    Leave a Reply

