Skip to content

Photo Story Friday: Collecting Acorns

April 9, 2010

I had big plans for the morning. 
We were heading to our favorite farm for a hike.
I had a picnic snack packed in my bag,
and a destination in mind.
We were heading deep within the property, in search of the cows.


Photobucket


It was a long walk. 
Longer than I remembered from last year,
made longer still by a little boy who stopped every few yards,
veering off the road to investigate the grass and leaves, trees and twigs, rocks and dirt.


Photobucket


Impatient, frustrated, with one eye on the time,
I kept encouraging him on. 
“Let’s go… come on… keep walking…”
And he’d reluctantly drop whatever he was contemplating and continue on,
only to stop, distracted again by some new small wonder.


Photobucket


So I made myself forget about the destination,
dropped the carefully made plans,
and crouched down beside him at the side of the path
where we spent the rest of the morning collecting acorns together.


Photobucket

And it turned out to be an even better morning than I had planned.


PhotoStory Friday

Please check out more of this week’s Photo Story Friday submissions
on My Chaos My Bliss.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 10:59 am

    This happens with Jonathan so often. I have to abandon my original plans and then decide that what we are doing instead is even better! Great photos!

  2. April 9, 2010 12:20 pm

    Kids are great that way, aren’t they? They mess up our plans and make the outcome so much better. It’s a good thing they’re around to keep us focused on the stuff that’s really important!

  3. April 9, 2010 1:45 pm

    Good for you! It’s so important to let kids just be kids and let them explore. And of course you have to join in too. It’s fun to be a kid!

  4. April 9, 2010 3:48 pm

    oh, that was sweet. They do teach us to take time to enjoy the scenery, don’t they?

  5. April 9, 2010 3:58 pm

    I’m sure the cows would have been fun, but I don’t think anything is better to a little boy than sticks and rocks and dirt. I’m glad you were able to alter your plans and have a great time.

  6. April 9, 2010 5:08 pm

    Kids are good at making us take a step back and remember what a wonder the world is in it’s smallest of details! Great pictures!

  7. April 9, 2010 7:39 pm

    I have a hard time not hurrying my son along because WE HAVE FUN THINGS TO DO GOSH DARN IT!! I’m glad that you had a better morning than planned 🙂

  8. April 10, 2010 1:13 pm

    Oh my–that’s SUCH a familiar scene. I’ve been that inpatient Mama more times than I care to admit, looking at the time, while my kids dawdle their way down the trail. It really is so much better when you “drop” the plans and go with the flow. Great pictures!

  9. April 12, 2010 8:37 am

    Love the tree lines country road! Sometimes it is better to follow their lead and just enjoy the moment.

Trackbacks

  1. The Saturday Evening Blog Post — April «

Leave a Reply

