Skip to content

Photo Story Friday — Believing

April 1, 2010

Magic is believing in yourself, if you can do that, you can make anything happen.
~ Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

My husband, Shane and I explored an incredible playground in a neighboring town during my computer-less week.
The climber itself is a giant pirate ship, and all the equipment goes along with that pirate/nautical theme.

Photobucket

This place was amazing…and Shane was in little boy Heaven.
Photobucket

Shane quickly worked out a little routine…
he’d clamber up the stairs,
race along the platforms,
I’d reach down and pull him up a ladder to the highest level,
and he’d launch himself down the biggest slide
to where Daddy waited below, cheering him on.
Again.
And again.
And again.

A few times he’d veer off and investigate an intreguing rope ladder, but either my husband or I would distract him away from it.
That was just a bit too advanced for him, we decided.
He was just too young to be able to handle that, yet.

Shane didn’t doubt himself, though.
He kept returning to that ladder. Checking it out, testing the bottom rungs.
And then, eventually, while we were momentarily distracted, he climbed it…
Photobucket

…quickly and effortlessly,
all the way to the top.
Photobucket

He did this over and over again, as we watched with stunned amazement and cheered him on.
Photobucket

That will teach me to ever underestimate this little boy.
If he believes he can take on a challenge, who am I to stand by and stop him,
to tell him that he can’t,
when he believes, wholeheartedly, that he can.

 

PhotoStory Friday

Please check out more of this week’s Photo Story Friday submissions
on My Chaos My Bliss.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 6:26 pm

    Aren’t kids amazing. My daughter at 18 months could scale any playground!

  2. April 1, 2010 7:24 pm

    That playground is fantastic!! I love the expression on his face in all of these, but that last one with the tongue is AWESOME!

  3. April 1, 2010 8:21 pm

    Kids are VERY resourceful.

    The little buggers… 🙂

  4. April 1, 2010 8:41 pm

    Looks like a great place to play! It appears that he was having a blast!

  5. April 1, 2010 8:55 pm

    This playground looks so awesome!! I wish there was one here!!

  6. April 2, 2010 4:25 am

    What a great playground!!!

    Looks like he had a great day.

  7. April 2, 2010 6:02 am

    That looks like so much fun! I love parks that are more than just boring old swings : ) Although, isn’t it great that our kids can have fun on boring old swings as well! : )

  8. April 2, 2010 8:42 am

    That second picture is priceless!

  9. April 2, 2010 11:41 am

    Wonderful pictures! I am amazed at what my daughter can do every day too, usually after I think she’s too little for that.

  10. April 2, 2010 10:05 pm

    Such a wonderful post. They have no fear, do they? I love those photos and that you let him explore and learn, even when you were worried for him!

  11. April 3, 2010 1:47 pm

    I love that you captured those pictures!

    I’ve learned that one of the hardest parts of being a mother is letting go a little at a time. And sometimes they just take this amazing leap that leaves your heart in your stomach and your chest full of pride all in the same moment.

    They grow up so quickly!

    (I am totally cracking up that Shane loves the Numa Numa song too! Itty Bit has been singing it since we posted it!)

Leave a Reply

