Skip to content

The Big Boy Bed

April 1, 2010

Last Sunday we made the big switch.
The move from the crib to the Big Boy Bed.

The first night went incredibly well. He slept right through the night, and around 6:30-ish the following morning I woke to hear a faint, baffled “Mama? Mama?!” Then silence, a soft thud, and quick little padding feet as he scurried down the hall from his room to ours. Then there he was, his little face beside our bed, peering up at me, as he bellowed “DERE’S my Mama!”

So that worked.

The last few nights haven’t gone as well, but that has nothing to do with the new bed. He’s cutting another molar, and Shane has never teethed with any shred of grace or dignity. So he’s been waking again & again & again over the past few nights, needing my husband or I to help him settle back down into sleep. *sigh*

Regardless of how he’s sleeping at night, he’s beyond thrilled with his big boy bed. The other night, this little boy who has always needed to be rocked to sleep, pushed his way out of my arms as I was nursing him before bed, exclaimed “Han ‘eep!” and scrambled up onto his bed, motioning to me to cover him with his blanket. So I did, and I sat with him as he drifted off to sleep on his own.

How did my little guy get to be so big?

Photobucket

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 7:29 am

    Congratulations! What a big boy you are now!!!

  2. 5kidswdisabilities permalink
    April 1, 2010 8:33 am

    I know, it is bittersweet that they grow up!
    Lindsey Petersen

  3. April 1, 2010 9:20 am

    How exciting for him!

    We are going to put Roo in a big girl bed this summer. Makes me nervous.

  4. April 1, 2010 8:57 pm

    So glad it’s working well for you! I’m nervous to try it with Shea…..he’s already figured out how to turn dresser drawers into stairs, hehe. So, clearly, when we do, the fish on top of the dresser will need a new location :). Did you go with a toddler bed or a twin?

Leave a Reply

