Skip to content

Project: Child’s Play Baby Carrier

March 14, 2010

Shane has spent countless hours of the first two years of his life snuggled up against my back or chest in one baby carrier or another. The other day Shane discovered my mei tai sitting out on the kitchen table.  He pulled it down, laid it on the floor, and carefully set one of his teddy bears in the center of it. Then, as he attempted to pull the straps around his waist, the bear tumbled out. He tried again, with the same result. Too much material, too long straps, just too difficult for a two-year-old to manipulate. I helped him settle his bear on his back and tied the straps around his body, where they trailed heavily behind them on the floor as he took his teddy on a hike around our apartment.

A while back, I had found this tutorial for a child’s play mei tai.  It it looked relatively straightforward, even for a beginning sewer. I had some material on hand, and decided I’d give it a try this weekend.

The directions were easy to follow – but I discovered just how much more practice I need to learn how to control that sewing machine! Stitching straight lines was beyond me. I’d wrestle the fabric into place, drop the presser foot, gently press down on the foot pedal, and…vroom! The machine practically burned rubber, the fabric ran away from me, and I’d be shrieking and scrambling to regain some allusion of control.

So, with that said, the finished product resembles a remarkably bad seventh-grade home-ec project.

Photobucket


But Shane doesn’t seem to mind the wonky seams or the fact that the top straps are attached to the body of the mei tai at awkward, uneven angles. He can carry his bear comfortably…and that’s all he really wanted, anyways.

Photobucket

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 10:54 am

    That’s so cute! I would’ve just tried to buy one, so kuddos on making it yourself!

  2. March 14, 2010 11:13 am

    I love this and think you did a great job. 🙂 I may try it for my daughter once our baby is born! I want to make a real one for me, so I’m sure she’ll want to tote her babies around as well.

  3. March 14, 2010 11:26 am

    That is such a cute idea! I want to make one of those for my Roo.

  4. March 14, 2010 5:44 pm

    totally adorable!

    nell

  5. March 14, 2010 7:27 pm

    Wow! Well done! What a great toy carrier and a lovely way of encouraging him to act in a nurturing way.

  6. March 16, 2010 12:45 am

    What a great model you are for him!

  7. March 16, 2010 9:00 pm

    Love it!

  8. March 19, 2010 9:43 pm

    That is so cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Photo Story Friday {Like Mama Do} «

Leave a Reply

