Skip to content

Flashback Friday: Musical Memories

March 13, 2010

We were browsing through the singles bin at the mall record store when my best friend made her discovery. “I love this song,” Christine gushed, and she held her find up victoriously. A plastic cassette protected by a thin cardboard sleeve, with The Cover Girls – Wishing on a Star dancing across the front in a swirly, girly font. (In the interest of full disclosure, that little tidbit was not remembered without the aid of Google, along with the exact lyrics).

I’d never heard of it, but then again, Christine was forever introducing me to new songs, new artists, new ideas.

On the drive home, she leaned over the center console and inserted the cassette as her father sat stoically in the driver’s seat, trying to tune out our chatter and our music.

I’m wishing on a star
To follow where you are
I’m wishing on a dream
To follow what it means

Chris looked confused. “Oh, this isn’t the song I thought it was…” We listened through, and decided we liked it anyways. It wound up being rerecorded on next mix-tapes we made and went into heavy rotation that summer.

And I wish on all the rainbows that I see
I wish on all the people who really dream
And I’m wishing on tomorrow praying never comes
And I’m wishing on all the loving we’ve never done

Christine and I met several summers before, at the campground that our families had gone to every summer for years. This particular summer, we were thirteen. Thirteen, and suddenly, unexpectedly, becoming more interested in boys than sandcastles. This particular summer several new families started camping at Sunset Park, including two families with kids our age. Wayne’s family settled into the campsite across the dirt road from mine, and Kevin and Maria moved in to a site just down the hill. Within a matter of weeks, we were inseparable. A tight-knit group that someone jokingly christened “The Fearsome Five,” and the name stuck.  Three adolescent girls and just two boys. A recipe for eventual disaster.

I never thought I’d see
A time when you would be
So far away from home
So far away from me

Wayne thought I was pretty cute, and I quickly developed a major crush on him. “Will you go out with me?” he finally, hesitantly asked. I blushed and stammered and somehow replied, “yes.”

Christine and Kevin immediately hit it off as well. Maria was the odd one out, the fifth wheel.

It was puppy love. No dates, no serious relationship issues. We were just two friends who happened to find each other cute, and in a safe way, were able to test out the roles of “girlfriend’ and “boyfriend.” A training wheel relationship.

Just think of all the moments that we’d spent
I just can’t let you go from me you were meant
And I didn’t mean to hurt you but I know
That in the game of love you reap what you sow

We spent the next month together. Swimming at the lake. Playing hide-n-seek after dusk. Hanging out in front of campfires, swinging in hammocks, riding our bikes, playing cards.

Photobucket

And then, one day, everything changed. Wayne confessed to me that he “was in love” with Maria, while Kevin told Christine that he had a crush on me.

I ran to Maria and begged her not to go out with Wayne.
She said she wouldn’t. Of course not, we were friends.
But then she did, regardless.

Christine ran to me and begged me not to go out with Kevin.
I said I wouldn’t. Of course not, we were friends.
And then I kept that promise.

I feel it’s time we should make up baby
I feel it’s time for us to get back together
And make the best of things oh baby
When we’re together whether or never

Christine and I spent who knows how many evenings sitting at my campsite together, listlessly shuffling cards (I learned how to shuffle that summer) and singing along with our mix tapes, while Maria and Kevin sat together in front of the campfire across the way. Wayne and Maria together. Kevin the third wheel.

I’m wishing on a star
To follow where you are
I’m wishing on a dream
To follow what it means

Right in the midst of it, I felt that my world was ending. In hindsight, what a blessing it was.

I learned about heartbreak…and I learned that hearts do heal.
I learned how to be a girlfriend…and I learned how to be strong on my own.
I learned about betrayal…and I learned what friendship truly entailed.

And I wish on all the rainbows that I see
And I wish on all the people we’ve ever been
And I’m hoping on all the days to come and days to go
And I’m hoping on days of loving you so

Christine and I still keep in touch…although time, distance, and the different paths our lives have taken us did cause us to eventually drift apart. I hadn’t thought much about Wayne, Maria, or Kevin in years, and probably wouldn’t have even now if I hadn’t come across a photo from that summer while flipping through one of my mother’s photo albums, on the same day I read the prompt for this week’s Flash Back Friday.  The memories started tumbling back, and I had no choice but to write. 

 

Visit Mylestones to read more of this week’s Flashback Friday posts. 

* I had this written yesterday, hoping to post last night…but my internet provider had other ideas and wouldn’t let me online!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 10:38 am

    So I just listened to that song, and am convinced there is no better summer song for 13 year old friends who are suddenly interested in boys. What a great flashback. So glad you joined. (And yes, you are welcome to link up anytime–Saturdays included!)

  2. March 13, 2010 12:02 pm

    Just one question: is this the Wayne who had his face rearranged by your foot? 🙂

    It’s a lovely story of a teenage summer (I learned to shuffle while camping too). It really belongs somewhere – published 🙂

    • March 13, 2010 3:14 pm

      Oh, thank you!

      Yup, the same guy that broke my little teenaged heart was the same guy who’s head I squashed only a month or so earlier!

Trackbacks

  1. True Story Tuesday: The Nickname «

Leave a Reply

