Skip to content

Banishing the Winter Blues

March 3, 2010

I went into this winter with such an optimistic state of mind. There was the excitement of the holiday season, the magical joy found in the first few snowstorms, and the sense of hunkering down at home and settling in with my son, enjoying new toys and new activities.

Photobucket

As the season wore on, the luster wore off. Blankets of snow were suddenly more of an annoyance than a wondrous sight. The new toys and activities gradually became the same old, same old. That cozy feeling of cocooning in at home morphed in to a suffocating, claustrophobic feeling.

Photobucket

We’re now hanging in the muddy limbo that exists between the pure white of winter and the brilliant greens of spring. Cabin fever and mild winter blues took hold, and the days began passing by with a sense of listless boredom and irritable fatigue. I’ve been wallowing this winter, stuck fast in a woe-is-me rut.

And I woke up this morning and decided that I was done with the wallowing.

I bundled Shane up in his snowsuit and boots, to protect from the biting wind and the sucking mud, and hustled him outside.

It was cold – bitterly cold – and absolutely rejuvenating. Shane rediscovered his climber and sandbox, his cheeks flushed pink from cold and joy, his shrieks of laughter carried off with each gust of wind.

And as for me? I finally rediscovered the enthusiasm and inner joy that I hadn’t even been aware was missing.

“If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant; if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome.”
— Anne Bradstreet

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 6:14 pm

    I’m glad you had a good day! It’s been 40 some degrees here and I’m ready to open the windows already, except I’m afraid my 3 year old will try to climb out.

  2. March 4, 2010 6:12 pm

    It’s tough..these winter days! I know what you mean. I’ve been like that too and we need to get out and enjoy it even when it is cold out. My son and I are going out on Saturday..no matter what!

  3. March 4, 2010 9:48 pm

    Thank you for sharing that quote. We are in a similar boat weather wise. This is the yucky part before Spring that drives me batty. Icy rain and gray skies…blah.

Leave a Reply

