Skip to content

One of Those Days

February 27, 2010

We never even bothered to change out of our pajamas this morning. 

The same old toys are loosing their luster. 
The same old books, same old activities, same old routines…same, same, same…
We’re slowly stagnating today.

The diagnosis: Acute Cabin Fever.

The treatment: We’ve got to get out from within these four walls, breathe in fresh air and bask in sunlight. 

And yet…

The view from our windows is dreary, uninspiring. 
A brittle beige lawn, dotted with mud puddles, littered with downed branches and half-decayed leaves.
The damp, heavy, dingy gray blanket of a sky looms overhead, appearing so uncompromisingly, unwelcomingly cold.

I’d rather stay holed up here in our apartment.  The walls may be closing in on us, but at least we’re warm and dry. 

And bored.  Mind-numbingly, unbearably bored.

Tomorrow. 
Tomorrow we’ll rediscover our sense of adventure. 
Tomorrow we’ll escape these four walls.
Tomorrow will be a better day.

Today…well, today has just been one of those days.

Photobucket

What do you do to improve your attitude when you’re having “one of those days?”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 7:52 pm

    I bake when I am having “one of those days”…usually with the radio on.

    I just stopped by to say I LOVE your blog. I feel a bit “semi-crunchy” myself. What a great description!

  2. February 27, 2010 8:03 pm

    We’ve been “enjoying” similar weather. Today we went to the library and then ran around like crazy people outside to see who could get totally soaked first. Then hot chocolate. Then very quiet children 😉

  3. February 27, 2010 11:35 pm

    I hear ya! We’ve had some cabin fever too!

    Oh, and the story behind the “karate kid peeing”… I still haven’t gotten the whole tale yet! My niece definitely needs to write a TST on the blog! She is a hilarious little thing – I’m sure she’d crack you up too 🙂

  4. February 28, 2010 6:20 am

    Great photo! Retail therapy helps. LOL 😉

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Visit again soon! 🙂

  5. February 28, 2010 9:58 am

    It was that way here too. I usually try to get outside, but Jonathan didn’t want to do anything and it seemed to sap my energy away so I wasn’t even interested in going out on my own. We’re going to my parents today — the live about an hour away — maybe that will perk us up a bit.

  6. February 28, 2010 4:30 pm

    I’m right there with you today! Although a trip to Target does sound midly entertaining.

  7. February 28, 2010 4:57 pm

    We watch a movie. I know, not the best, but it does calm him. Or, I haul out some stickers, hehe. Shopping is also good :).

Trackbacks

  1. Banishing the Winter Blues «

Leave a Reply

