Skip to content

Photo Story Friday: The Comfort of a Silly Old Bear

February 26, 2010

If ever there is tomorrow when we’re not together.. there is something you must always remember. you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart.. I’ll always be with you.
~ quote from A. A. Milne’s “Winnie the Pooh”

When I was a toddler, I had my “Boo-Boo Baby.”  She was a handmade doll with a cloth body and plastic head, and I carried her everywhere…by her hair. I still have Boo-Boo Baby, packed away with those other precious things that I can’t bear to part with. Her face is dirty, her clothes are ragged, and her hair… Well, from years of being carried around by it, her hair now stands straight up on it’s own, in a snarled rat’s nest, looking very much like a troll doll.

My sister had a little pillow that was her precious lovie. A little toddler-sized pillow, with a silky (or was it satiny?) case. When tired or scared, overwhelmed or bored, she’d hug that pillow tight, while simultaneously sucking her fingers and twirling her hair with her other hand.

My brother had his pacifier, and a My Buddy Doll. My Buddy was a constant companion, at least until my sister and the son family friends let my baby brother watch a few minutes of “Chucky” when it aired one time on TV. My Buddy instantly morphed into a beloved friend to a frightening creature, and was banished from the house.  He spent the next decade up in the rafter’s of a garage, peering down at my Dad and his co-workers and becoming increasingly grease-encrusted.

PhotobucketUp until recently, Shane had never really taken to a “Lovie” like the way my siblings and I did. And it’s not for a lack of trying on my part. When I returned to work, I tried to encourage him to have a lovie. I had hoped it would ease his transition to daycare, and I even wore the darn thing inside my PJs when I was sleeping for about several weeks leading up to my return to work. It was a Taggie toy, a little fleece square with a cow’s head on one end, little feet hanging off each corner, and textured tags on the front. No dice, he never really cared for it, regardless of how cute it was or how much I tried to encourage an attachment.

Last fall, he suddenly started showing affection for one of his stuffed animals, a brown teddy bear that we originally called simply “Bear.” Recently, my son has rechristened his bear as “Doh.”  Yeah…Doh.  Where’d that come from?  Your guess is as good as mine.  At first, this bear was something Shane began to seek out only around naps and bedtime.  He cuddled it while we read bedtime stories, clutched his bear tightly in one arm whenever he nursed (and yes, I’ve even pretended to nurse Doh a few times at Shane’s insistence!). One night, as we were sitting together in the glider reading books before bed, with Shane on my lap and Doh on his, Shane started pointing out images on the pages. He’d say or sign the word, then push the bear’s face up close to the illustrations. This went on for several pages, until I figured out that he was “reading” the book to his bear…melt my heart!

As time passes, Doh has become more of a cherished companion.  When Shane is tired, overwhelmed, frustrated or sad, he snuggles tightly against his bear’s soft fur, and Doh provides comfort.  My son’s two-year physical was this past Wednesday, and as he endured the finger-prick blood draw to test for lead, Shane and Doh and I huddled squished up together, crying softly together, offering and taking comfort from one another until the procedure was done.  My brave little man stayed close by me, with Doh held tight by his side, until the indignity and discomfort was finally, blessedly, forgotten.

Photobucket

Wherever they go, and whatever happens to them on the way, in that enchanted place on the top of the forest, a little boy and his Bear will always be playing.
~ quote from A. A. Milne’s “Winnie the Pooh”

PhotoStory Friday

Please check out more of this week’s Photo Story Friday submissions on My Chaos My Bliss.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 11:46 am

    I love your Pooh quotes. I have all the books and they just make me feel squishy inside.

    And the shot of Shane and Doh is just sweet as can be. He has the most beautiful brown eyes!

    Oh, and now I have the stupid jingle from the old My Buddy commericals stuck in my head…so thanks for that! 🙂

  2. February 26, 2010 3:40 pm

    I really loved this post. My daughter hasn’t taken to a “lovie” yet. She is 13 months and I have often wondered when she will. I think she thinks that I am her lovie! Love the quotes that you included and the pics melt me!

  3. February 26, 2010 6:45 pm

    Awww…he is so adorable. My girls have a million and one lovies!

  4. February 26, 2010 10:43 pm

    Awww…such a sweet post. That first Pooh quote is one of my favorites.

  5. February 27, 2010 1:37 am

    that is so sweet.

    but I never had one though. I don’t want my children to have one either. not becoming mean. it’s just because I think a lovie could be a trouble when they’re not there.

    I mean, I just learned from my sister experience. my sister lived in some other town, 500miles away from my parents house. one day she and her family visited our parents, and her son brought his lovie. when they went home they forgot the lovie, and my nephew couldn’t sleep well. my mom had to send it by mail.

  6. February 27, 2010 12:57 pm

    It is nice when they have that special something that eases the pains and helps with the sleeping.
    We only really had one of our kids pick a favorite thing and it was terrible when due to too many washes she had to be put up life was never the same.

  7. February 27, 2010 8:06 pm

    So sweet. My son took four years to find a lovie. And boy did we watch that thing like hawks. I was so afraid to lose it!

  8. February 27, 2010 11:33 pm

    Awww! I love that photo!

    Our kiddo never had a lovie – but it wasn’t for lack of introducing him to any number of possibilities.

    I think I simply was his lovie. He fell asleep in my arms every single night until he was two. And I could never ever complain because I knew I could never ever do it again.
    I don’t regret a single moment holding him and rocking and finally leaning my weary arms over his crib.

    I love that your son loves his bear!

  9. February 28, 2010 1:08 pm

    So sweet. I especially love the reading to “Doh” part. It’s funny that we can try to attach them to things and it doesn’t work, but then they to it themselves and the bond it instantly there. My daughter was like that.

  10. February 28, 2010 6:26 pm

    So sweet with his lovie! My girls both had little blankies. The oldest doesn’t have one any more, but the youngest still does.

Leave a Reply

