Skip to content

Computer Woes

January 8, 2010

I think I’ve been suffering from mild withdrawal symptoms. And I know I’ve come close to cackling hysterically while heaving my computer out the window into a nearby snow bank. Why? Because my computer has been beyond temperamental this week.

I’m usually pretty good at computers. I can manage Microsoft Word just fine. I can navigate the internet, download music, upload and edit pictures and video, online shop (!), and even update this blog without much hassle…as long as my computer’s working properly. Once it starts to tantrum on me, I’m at a complete loss. And this past week, I’ve been at a total, utter, and complete loss…which has turned me into a twitching, teary lunatic at times.

My computer has oh-so-gradually become slower…and slower…and slower. I don’t honestly know when it started, it’s been so sneaky and stealthy-like as all the bytes and whatnot have slowly become mired in black strap molasses. All I know is that by this past weekend, I could sit in front of the computer and flip through a magazine — reading an entire article — while waiting for a webpage to upload. Not good.

Just checking Facebook would take all morning. I’d sign in and walk away. Come back, update my status, wander off to do the dishes. Check back, click on my inbox, and off I’d go to read with Shane while the page loaded. Wander back, read a message, reply, hit send, then step away to fold laundry while it sent. And so on, and so forth…for amost a week now.

I tried to defrag, but couldn’t. There was only 6% of free space left on our hard drive! We’ve been stuffing our computer full of pictures and songs for the past five years, and it can’t let out its belt anymore. So after investing in a pile of CDs, I’ve been spending the past few days burning enough songs and photos onto disk and then deleting them from our hard drive to free up the space needed to run defragmenter. And I want to kiss my keyboard, because I finally have my computer running like normal again!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 5:53 pm

    Living with a computer tech is nice for this reason alone, some way or another I will always (well, almost always) be able to get online. On the flipside, if I do anything to mess up the computer I would never hear the end of it.

    • January 9, 2010 2:26 pm

      I need my own personal compuer tech! My husband is about as computer literate as I am, which means when the computer conks out on us, we both stand around staring at it and wringing our hands!

  2. January 8, 2010 6:16 pm

    Yay! Wondered where you were :).

    • January 9, 2010 2:24 pm

      I’ve been here…methodically bashing my head against my keyboard for the past week! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Taking an Unwanted Blogging Break… «

Leave a Reply

