Skip to content

Indoor S’mores Bars

December 31, 2009

I’ve been meaning to share this recipe since I posted about making it as gifts.   I first stumbled across it when I was a brand-new teacher with my first preschool class.  While poking around the curriculum resource section at the local library, I stumbled across a cookbook for kids.  Cooking projects were always one of my favorite activities to plan for my students, so I quickly snatched that book up and checked it out. 

It was a rather disappointing book once I got it home. I remember it as being overflowing with incredibly unhealthy recipes — recipes that my director would have blown a gasket if I had the children in my care making (and eating!) these treats.  Although that book was a bust in regards to offering usable ideas for my curriculum, I did copy down a few recipes for my own personal use.  The recipe for Indoor S’mores Bars was one of them. Sure, it’s less than healthy…but sometimes life calls for an abundance of chocolate and marshmallows!

Since finding this recipe, I’ve made them to take on a group picnic with my forever friends and their families (and they were devoured).  I’ve made them for a bake sale a co-worker organized as a cancer fundraiser (and they sold out almost immediately).  And I’ve made them for various family get-togethers (where my brother can be found hovering over the platter).

(Scroll to bottom of this post for the complete recipe).

Photobucket
Gather your ingredients: chocolate chips, marshmallows, peanut butter and graham crackers.

Photobucket
Spray a baking dish liberally with cooking spray.  Seriously, don’t skimp on the spray, or you’ll be prying these suckers loose with a crow-bar.  Next time I’m going to try lining the pan with parchment paper and see if that’s a better method.  If you try this recipe and use parchement, please leave me a comment to let me know how easily the bars pop out of the pan.

Photobucket
Break the graham crackers into small pieces.

Photobucket
Melt together the chocolate chips and peanut butter.  You can use a double boiler if you have one.  If you don’t have one, or have one but can’t find it (oops…!) a saucepan alone will work, just watch it carefully so the chocolate doesn’t burn.

Photobucket
Stir constantly.

 Photobucket
Once the chocolate mixture is completely melted, turn off the heat and add the marshmallows and graham cracker pieces to the pan.  Stir gently to coat thoroughly with the melted chocolate. 

Photobucket
Dump everything into your prepared pan, and use the back of a wooden spoon to spread the mixture.  Things are going to get exceptionally gooey…just do the best you can.  Place the pan in the fridge for an hour or two until firm, and then cut into bars. 

 That’s all it takes.  Be prepared to be swarmed when you arrive with the platter. 

Ingredients:

Cooking spray
12 graham cracker squares
3 cups milk chocolate chips
2 Tbsp. peanut butter
3 cups miniature marshmallows

Directions:

1. Spray the pan thoroughly with cooking spray, set aside.

2. Put the graham crackers in a zip-loc bag. Squeeze the crackers through the bag until they are broken into small pieces about the size of postage stamps.

3. Put the chocolate chips and peanut butter into a medium-sized saucepan. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, until the chocolate is completely melted. Remove pan from burner, and stir in the graham cracker pieces and marshmallows.

4. Spread the marshmallow mixture in the sprayed pan. Place pan in the refrigerator for about one hour or until firm. Cut the S’mores mixture into bars using a knife (tip: warm knife under hot water, then wipe dry before cutting). Store any leftover bars in the refrigerator.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2009 11:28 am

    Aye! Death to my diet plans!

    WOW – that looks AMAZING… and is definitely one of those recipes I want to try! We may just make them tonight as a New Years Eve treat!
    The peanutbutter part is gonna be a huge treat for our little guy 🙂

    Thanks for posting – can’t wait to partake!

    Happiest New Year!

  2. December 31, 2009 12:11 pm

    Oh my gosh, that is to die for! Yummy!

    Thanks so much for all of your kind comments on my blog. You’re too sweet!

  3. January 3, 2010 1:37 pm

    Wanna know something hilarious?!?! I didn’t realize Julie had left a comment after me, then she emailed me and said she was planning to make smores – from a recipe she found on a blog.

    It cracked me up that we were both planning to make them from your post! 🙂

    And I did! They were delicious and the kiddo very much enjoyed helping me put LESS peanutbutter in than was called for (somehow more ended up in HIS MOUTH than in the pan).

    Thanks again – this was much fun!

    • January 3, 2010 2:14 pm

      How funny is that?! I’m so glad you and your son liked this recipe. And I’d have to agree with him, peanut butter always seems so good straight out of the jar!

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas Re-Cap « Confessions of a Semi-Crunchy Mama
  2. New Year’s Eve, Already?!? « Confessions of a Semi-Crunchy Mama

Leave a Reply

