Skip to content

Christmas Re-Cap

December 28, 2009

I’ve been on a self-imposed Christmas hiatus over the past week or so. Even with my hopes for a simpler holiday this year, I was still getting myself stressed as I tried to juggle all of my last-minute shopping/wrapping/baking/cleaning.  Something had to give, and that something was blogging.   Now that the holiday rush is over, I’m hoping to be better about posting regularly again.

The week leading up to Christmas was filled with baking, cooking, and last-minute crafting.  I made Indoors S’mores, Rocky Road Bars, and Beth‘s Ritz Cracker Thin Mints (so very good!), which were packed together in tins to share as gifts.  I’ll have to type up and share the S’Mores & Rocky Road recipes at some point.  They’re both easy — and incredibly tasty — recipes.  (Edited 12/31/09 to add link to the Indoor S’mores recipe here)

I shopped.  I wrapped.  I cooked. I stressed.
And then finally, finally, we celebrated.

Photobucket
We opened gifts with my extended family on Christmas Eve.

Photobucket
Shane woke up Christmas morning with a cold. but even with a runny, congested nose, he still had a blast opening his stocking stuffers on Christmas morning.

Photobucket
Apparently, power tools are useful for unwrapping larger packages.

Photobucket
We hosted my in-laws on Christmas day…
and they buried our little tree with their packages.

Photobucket
Parading with his new musical instruments on “Christmas 2.0”
(We had my parents & grandmother over on the day after Christmas).

Even though I wasn’t able to avoid as much of the holiday stress as I had hoped to, this Christmas was still incredibly memorable.   We hosted my in-laws on Christmas day, and my family the day after.  I cooked a turkey dinner — with all the side dishes — and didn’t destroy the turkey, like I was half-convinced I would.  (Yes…I even had a few dreams in the days leading up to Christmas, in which the turkey went up in a puff of smoke when it was carved, Griswold-style).

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 12:54 am

    I’m glad you had a good holiday, despite the chaos :). We got Shea the same music set. He LOVES the drum, but hates wearing it, like Shane is :).

    • December 29, 2009 2:11 pm

      How funny is it that our boys have wound up with so many of the exact same toys (kitchen, tool bench, instruments)! They’d be completely at home in each other’s houses if a playdate were ever possible…which would be fun, but it would be a heck of a commute!

  2. December 29, 2009 9:26 am

    I am glad everything worked out great. I always stress and then when it is all done I wonder what the fuss was about : ). I am wondering how you like that drum present…. Oh my! I miss little kids in the house! Shane is a cutie!

    • December 29, 2009 2:13 pm

      I like the drum set…in theory. But I have to be honest, it quickly got hidden away to be taken out on rainy, snowy days (days when Mommy’s not at risk of developing a thumper of a headache!) It should have come with a supply of Tylonal… 🙂

  3. December 29, 2009 4:25 pm

    Looks like you had a great day! Yeah, we had one of those drums at one point. Not sure whatever happened to it. I think Hubby might have given it away to someone. That same “someone” will probably get that blasted recorder soon too.

  4. December 29, 2009 4:31 pm

    I do think they would have fun together (and us too). Maybe we’ll trek out there one day :).

Trackbacks

  1. Indoor S’mores Bars « Confessions of a Semi-Crunchy Mama

Leave a Reply

