Skip to content

You Capture: Holiday Decor

December 17, 2009

Photobucket

Photobucket
My mother made this ceramic Christmas tree not long after she and my father married.  It’s long since lost the star that once sat on top.

Photobucket
Our Charlie Brown tree. 
It’s short, sparse, and skinny, but fits our apartment perfectly.
We had to corral it with a baby gate to protect it from our toddler.
I made the star on top our first Christmas together, after realizing we had no tree topper.  I made it at work one day while my preschool class was napping,  using a toilet paper roll, a piece of cardboard, yellow paint, and
an obnoxiously excessive amount of gold glitter.

PhotobucketI made this ornament for everyone in my family several years ago,
in memory of my niece, Ava.

PhotobucketI cherish this nativity scene.  When I was a child, I’d wake up each year on Christmas morning to discover a single gift from Santa left in my bedroom.
Each year it was another piece of this nativity scene.  The first year I received the Holy Family, and each year after I’d wake up Christmas morning to find a new piece was added.  I still have the original boxes and protective wrapping, and every year as I carefully unwrap the pieces I remember how excited…and awed…I was each year, even as a child, to receive such a meaningful gift.

 

 
Check out I Should be Folding Laundry to see more fantastic captures
of everyone’s favorite holiday decor.

Want to participate?  The theme for December 30th is YOUR HOLIDAY!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2009 3:24 am

    Love the nativity shot – nice capture!

  2. December 18, 2009 7:47 am

    I love the gate around the tree! We’ve also used lots of different methods of keeping little ones from messing with the tree.

    • December 19, 2009 9:57 am

      Unfortunately, the gate’s not working as well as I hoped it would. He’s now taken to tossing balls, toy trucks, and sippy cups at the branches since he can’t reach them. *sigh* Toddlers…

  3. December 18, 2009 9:02 am

    Very nice 🙂 Our tree could also use a gate around it, the kids and the cat are always in it lol!
    Merry Christmas

    • December 19, 2009 9:58 am

      I can imagine! My mother’s new cat has been climbing around inside her tree…it’s driving her bonkers!

  4. December 18, 2009 9:34 am

    I am a big, huge fan of Charlie Brown trees!

    • December 19, 2009 10:01 am

      I want to wrap my tree up with Linus’s blanket…I just love this scrawny, scraggly tree more than I expected (I grew up with Griswold Family Christmas trees, so this little thing was definitely out of the norm for me!)

  5. December 18, 2009 9:30 pm

    Love those pics… memorable ornaments, the homemade star, the tradition of giving one part of the nativity each year… love it all.
    Merry Christmas!

  6. December 19, 2009 10:09 am

    Thank you so much! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

