Skip to content

You Call This a Photo Shoot?

December 13, 2009

My sister, sister-in-law, and I attempted to get a photo of Shane and his cousins today. I say “attempted,” because we wound up with three cameras full of some interesting images.  Blurry shots.  Photos with three sets of eyes looking in every direction but at the cameras.  Pictures with at least one, if not more, children crawling/running/climbing /falling out of the frame.  We also managed the incredible feat immortalizing several rather dramatic temper tantrums forever on film.  Well…on pixels, or whatever you call them. 

Needless to say, there were some fabulously funny out-takes.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t look as though there’s even one photo that’s really suitable for enlarging and framing as a Christmas gift for my parents.  Putting off our Second Annual Cousins Christmas Photo for the last-minute was most definitely not a good plan on our part.

This may be the best of the bunch.
Photobucket

And some of the “better” out-takes…
Photobucket

It all started to head rapidly downhill from here.
Photobucket

My niece makes her escape,
my nephew’s just trying to remain patient,
and my son’s just done.
Photobucket

And for comparison’s sake, here’s last year’s photo:
Photobucket

 Thankfully, my parents both share a rather absurd sense of humor,
so they’ll love any of these portraits of their grandchildren, quirks and all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 10:09 am

    Whenever we do photos with Shea, I always bring a toy that is photo-friendly. He has some with his stuffed dog, some with wooden cars, etc., seems to help :).

    This having been said, there is something to be said for having photos of your child that actually capture who you child really is :). I think they’re great photos :). I’d be tempted to buy a 3-opening frame and put a nice one, and 2 hilarious outtakes (maybe a progression :)) in there :).

    • December 15, 2009 1:47 pm

      We’re going to make a collage of the out-takes for my parents. We did that last year, and it went over really well!

      We tried props, but that lead to some scuffling. We tried setting up a movie in my sister’s portable DVD player, but that resulted in three glassy-eyed stares. And we tried giving them all lollypops, out of desperation, but that just caused sticky, gooey faces. Oh well…

  2. December 15, 2009 1:31 pm

    I LOVE this. This cracks me right up! What a cute bunch of photos. Sometimes the out takes are the best ones!

    • December 15, 2009 1:48 pm

      Thank you! We’re going to make a collage for my parents of some of the best out-takes. We did that last year, and I think they enjoyed that collage just as much as the “good” picture!

Leave a Reply

