Skip to content

My Happy Story: Rain Puddles & Froggy Boots

December 3, 2009

Rain Puddles & Froggy Boots

It was the perfect morning for a walk together.
Photobucket

We discovered crisp autumn leaves of all sizes & shapes.
Photobucket

Benches called out for us to rest a moment, and take in the scenery.
Photobucket

The rests were always short-lived…
Photobucket

And the puddles? The countless, trail-swallowing puddles?
Well, they called out to one particular little boy for something else entirely.
Photobucket

Thank goodness for Froggy rain boots!
Photobucket

At first I tried to steer him past the puddles. 
Then I remembered that jeans are washable.
The boots were waterproof.
And little boys were meant to puddle-jump.
Photobucket

And puddle-jump he did!
Photobucket

He stomped, squished, jumped, splashed and giggled
through every puddle that stood in his way.
And I have to admit…I joined in. How could I not?!
Photobucket

Another bench, another brief rest,
and the challenge of climbing up all by myself! .
Photobucket

Such an unforgettable morning.
Photobucket

I love this soggy, tired little boy,
and his boundless enthusiasm for the messiest of childhood adventures.
Photobucket
I love how, while puddle-jumping with him,
I felt like a child again today.

 

This weeks You Capture challenge was to tell a happy story in pictures.
Check out I Should be Folding Laundry to see more fantastic captures!

Photobucket
15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 3:58 pm

    I love how those bright green froggie boots jump out of every picture!! (Ha! Didn’t mean to make that bad pun.) My oldest son had the same pair. 🙂

  2. December 3, 2009 4:06 pm

    They are all wonderful pictures and you can just feel the happiness in all of them. I love the pic of just the boots in the mud… great capture!

  3. crnnoel permalink
    December 3, 2009 4:49 pm

    Puddle jumping is so much fun! You were so brave to get your camera so close to the puddles 😉 Love it!

  4. December 3, 2009 10:35 pm

    What a sweetie!

  5. December 4, 2009 3:23 pm

    Oh, I just LOVE all of your captures!! What a fun outing! GREAT job!!

  6. December 4, 2009 4:13 pm

    Aren’t rubber boots the best?! Such sweet shots! I really like the first one of your son on the bench.

  7. December 4, 2009 4:55 pm

    How fun! We should all learn to give in on the reigns once in a while…Good Job, Momma!

  8. December 4, 2009 5:24 pm

    I LOVE those boots…how cute! 🙂 Love that puddle picture also…good job! 🙂

  9. alita permalink
    December 4, 2009 5:54 pm

    yes, Yes, YES I love those puddle pictures. My boys are BIG fans of puddles. Great pictures!!

  10. mamarissa permalink
    December 5, 2009 9:17 am

    I love this. Those simple, joyful days are some of the most beautiful, aren’t they?

  11. December 5, 2009 11:53 am

    Fantastic story – the boots (and the boy for sure!) are so cute and really add an extra pop to each pic. My favorite though has to be the face shot on the bench…such a classic thoughtful look there!

  12. December 5, 2009 12:09 pm

    LOVE the froggy rain boots! So much fun 🙂
    My daughter is only 7 months old but, I’ve had a few moments when I’ve felt like a kid again. Like playing “Patty-Cake” ~ makes me think of playing & laughing with my Dad until I couldn’t breathe!

  13. December 5, 2009 12:10 pm

    I love this! He looks like he is having so much fun! And I just love those boots! I wish I could find some for Jonathan.

    This post seriously brought a smile to my face and I needed this today! Thank you! And thanks for stopping by my blog!

  14. December 5, 2009 1:01 pm

    What a cute little boy you have. You must have such fun going on walks with him and letting him be a boy.

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Anniversary «

Leave a Reply

