Skip to content

A Few Moments of Peace

December 1, 2009

Beth, of Chatting at the Sky, was asking for our favorite snapshot from Thanksgiving for this week’s Tuesday’s Unwrapped. A photograph that celebrates the quiet, but special, moments during such a busy holiday. As soon as I read her post, I knew which photograph I would use.

I didn’t take many photos over the course of the day. My minutes were consumed by helping with the meal preparations, while simultaneously keeping an eye on my little guy and catching up with my family. My cousins and nephew were keeping Shane occupied — running around, rough-housing, and dancing out in the fresh air on my parents’ deck. By the time the meal was ready, he was nodding off in his high chair…it was well past time for a nap.

After the semi-organized craziness of the morning, and the excitement of being amongst our extended family, Shane crashed. I snuggled up beside him on the guest bed and nursed him down to a drowsy state, then stayed with him and rubbed his back until he drifted off to sleep. I could hear the laughter and snippets of conversations floating up from downstairs. I could feel the energy and happiness of the holiday, the buzz of being together as a family. In the midst of all the wonderful chaos of the day, I found a few stolen moments of peace as I watched my baby ease into sleep.

Photobucket

 

Photobucket
Post inspired by Chatting at the Sky‘s “Tuesday’s Unwrapped.”
What is Tuesday’s Unwrapped? Click here for more info.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 3:27 pm

    Don’t you just love the ‘chaos’ of gathering family together? That picture is precious.

    So glad I could make you laugh. We do it around here quite often. 😉

  2. December 1, 2009 7:35 pm

    Such a precious picture. You forgive them for everything whenever they’re sleeping. Such angels.

  3. December 1, 2009 10:22 pm

    Sleep is precious!! I love to watch children sleep!!

  4. December 2, 2009 12:27 am

    beautiful picture–so peaceful.

  5. December 2, 2009 12:37 am

    That photo is breathtaking.

    Steph

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Anniversary «

Leave a Reply

