Skip to content

Big Enough to Hike

November 30, 2009

Sunday morning got off to a slow start. We left the house too late to travel very far, so wound up staying right here in town, exploring the Stavros Reservation. It’s such a short walk compared to our typical hikes, so I left the mei tai in the car. Shane hiked along with us, on his own short little legs. It was quite an eventful hike, for this little guy.

He held his Daddy’s hand for a short while, before exclaiming “ME!”
and pulling away to run up ahead (translation: I wanna do it myself!)
Photobucket

It took us longer than typical to travel such a short distance,
but we were carefully observing each and every footstep,
and marveling over the crunch of leaves underfoot.
Photobucket

Shane and Daddy played a chasing game, complete with shrieks
of laughter, around and around the tower at the top of the hill.
Photobucket

He’s grown so fast…
Photobucket

It wasn’t all that long ago that he spent countless
hikes snuggled safe against my back in our mei tai.
Photobucket

Sometimes he’d nurse….
Photobucket

…sometimes he’d nap.
Photobucket

How is it possible that this baby boy is now big enough to hike on his own?
Photobucket

I’m looking forward to countless more hikes as a family,
but have to admit that my heart breaks a little,
as I realize that the days of wearing him on our adventures are numbered.
Photobucket

14 Comments leave one →
  1. crnnoel permalink
    November 30, 2009 9:02 pm

    I love that nursing picture, so perfect.
    The whole growing up thing is so bittersweet to watch. I’m thankful Paige will still let me wear her, but she’s such an independent little soul that her days are numbered also for that! I’m hanging on tight…

    • December 8, 2009 10:43 am

      Bittersweet is such a perfect way to describe how it feels. I’m trying to cherish each step in this journey…but I can’t help but miss that tiny infant stage.

  2. December 6, 2009 9:55 am

    My kids have only recently discovered the joys of hiking and they LOVE it. I love watching their legs stretch and carry them over the ground.

    • December 8, 2009 10:40 am

      It is such a rewarding past-time, isn’t it, regardless of how young or old you are! I hope my son still enjoys hiking with us as he gets older.

  3. December 6, 2009 5:33 pm

    What a sweet, sweet post. I love snuggles in a mei tai – my favorite carrier of all. Just yesterday late in the afternoon, my 3 (almost 3.5) year old was tired and needy, so I put him in the mei tai on my back while I got dinner ready for the 6yo and 1yo. He snuggled against me and laid his head against my back. After about 5 minutes or so, he was ready to get down, feeling better after some bonding. It was a sweet moment I am so grateful for. So moral of the story–hang on to that mei tai! It will be an effective coping mechanism even as your baby grows.

    Great photos, too. 🙂

    • December 8, 2009 10:36 am

      What a sweet moment with your son! Thank you for that advice…I’m definitely hanging onto the mei tai as long as I can!

  4. December 6, 2009 6:10 pm

    Beautiful pictures!!!

    And it really is so bittersweet, watching them grow so fast, isn’t it?

    That’s why it’s tempting for me to just keep having more 🙂

    • December 8, 2009 10:39 am

      Thank you! It is so very bittersweet…I’m enjoying each new stage, and marveling over each milestone he reaches…but there’s still this little, secret part of me that mourns the loss of his infancy.

  5. tiddlyompompom permalink
    December 7, 2009 3:56 am

    It’s amazing how quickly they grow up and become “independent”. My daughter loves walking especially if there are puddles to splash in!

    • December 8, 2009 10:40 am

      Puddle-spashing is my little guy’s favorite past time! I just posted photos the other day…thank goodness for rainboots is all I have to say! =)

Trackbacks

  1. The Saturday Evening Blog Post « Confessions of a Semi-Crunchy Mama
  2. Mei Tai Memories «
  3. Project: Child’s Play Baby Carrier «
  4. Blog Anniversary «

Leave a Reply

