Skip to content

Project: Snowman Shirt and Santa Hat

November 29, 2009

My mother-in-law has loaned me her sewing machine, and spent some time the weekend before last showing me how to use it. I have so many projects that I’m eager to get started on, but figured that I needed to start with something simple.  And small.  And inexpensive — so that if I completely screwed up, I didn’t waste too much money on fabric.

While browsing the web a few weeks ago in search of free patterns, I stumbled across this tutorial for a Santa hat. Granted, it’s meant for a doll, but it still works for a toddler-sized head, with some tweaking of the measurements.

I finally made the time to make this hat late last week.  I had picked up red material at Joann’s Fabric, where it was 50% off (I think I spent about $1.50 for a half-yard), and had some white fuzzy fabric left over from Shane’s Halloween costume (he was Max, from Where the Wild Things Are).

There was surprisingly little cursing as I made this hat, even though the thread kept snarling as I sewed through multiple thick layers while making the furry trim. And it just fits Shane…in all honesty, it’s on the snug side. But he loves it! Spent some time laughing and pointing at his reflection in the bathroom mirror, and threw a minor fit when I took it off so that I could sew on the pom-pom.

I didn’t do too badly, for a rookie.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


I embellished a shirt for Shane yesterday, during his nap. I found a relatively simple clip-art image of a snowman, enlarged it, and printed it out. The various parts of the snowman were cut out of craft felt, and I used fusible web to attach them to an inexpensive Wal-mart t-shirt. Well…my plan was to use the fusible web to attach the snowman to the shirt. The fusible web had a different plan. It wouldn’t fuse.

Plan B was sewing each individual piece of felt to the shirt.
One at a time.
By hand.

It took forever.

Work-in-progress, and a close-up of the completed applique.
Photobucket Photobucket

The finished shirt.
Photobucket

I think he likes it…and the Santa hat adds just the right touch!
Photobucket Photobucket

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2009 9:07 pm

    Awesome!! This is my new thing too, embellishing shirts, etc.. I made a couple for the little boy I babysit. What worked best for me was to buy the no-sew iron-on stuff at michael’s ($11 Canadian gets you a TON of it. I’ve used it for countless things and have lots left), and then hand-sew around it. The hand-sewing takes a lot of time, but looks nice :). I just made blankets for all the kids in my moms group doing this :). You can’t use the sewing machine for it, but you can get a lighter iron-on, that’s not as permanent, that you can use the machine on :).

    I love being crafty, and you did a great job!!

    • November 30, 2009 5:15 pm

      Thank you! It was fun, and I’m already thinking of what else I can embellish. I did buy the fusible web…but I guess it wasn’t compatible with felt, which was frustrating. I I still have a ton, so I’m going to try it again, using thinner fabric next time, instead of craft felt. I’m hoping to make a few Christmas gifts for my niece & nephew! I was thinking shirts…but blankets sound fun, too!

  2. November 29, 2009 9:59 pm

    SO impressed. I wish I could sew!

    Steph

  3. November 30, 2009 4:57 pm

    So cute! I can’t sew to save my life. I’d be surprised if I could even figure out how to turn a sewing machine on.

Leave a Reply

