Skip to content

You Capture: Food

November 27, 2009

For years now, my parents have been hosting our extended family for Thanksgiving. The house is crowded with my parents, my grandmother, my brother’s & sister’s families, and my aunt’s family. There’s lots of laughter, some stressing as we get the food ready, the Macy’s parade and excited shrieks of the children as background noise. Wine…always great wine, spontaneous hugs, candid photos, and naps on the couch. I love Thanksgiving, and I think it’s the holiday that I find myself looking forward to the most. Comfort food and family…what more could you ask for?

Each year, each family who attends brings a dish or two, so that my mother has less to worry about as she prepares. This year, my contribution was glazed carrots. Simple. Sweet. A no-recipe recipe. And so very, very delicous.

Photobucket
Wash & peel a ton of carrots. Or at least a bag full.

Photobucket
Slice them in rounds (I sliced them on an angle.
Why? ‘Cause they look nicer that way).

Photobucket
Toss them in a steamer basket, and steam until
they can be pierced easily with a fork.

Photobucket
Melt together butter & brown sugar to make a glaze.
I used a stick of butter and a half cup of brown sugar,
which made way too much glaze. The point is to glaze
the carrots…not drown them.  I drowned them. 

Photobucket
Toss the steamed carrots in the glaze. That’s all it takes!

Photobucket

 

This weeks You Capture challenge was to capture Food.
Check out I Should be Folding Laundry to see more fantastic captures!

Photobucket

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2009 1:36 pm

    They look yummy. Sounds like a great Thanksgiving day!

  2. tiddlyompompom permalink
    November 27, 2009 9:41 am

    ordinarily I don’t like carrots but your pictures make them look very tempting! great photos

  3. November 27, 2009 10:18 am

    Yummy! Drowning is goo ( :

    I hope you and your family had a lovely Thanksgiving!

    Thanks for the recipe!

  4. November 27, 2009 10:19 am

    *good

  5. November 27, 2009 9:34 pm

    Mmm…sounds yummy!! Great photos!!

  6. capitolmommy permalink
    November 28, 2009 12:01 am

    YUM!! Those look wonderful!

  7. November 28, 2009 8:50 am

    There’s never such a thing as too much glaze. I just recently realized that I don’t mind carrots after all, so I may have to try this.

  8. November 29, 2009 8:03 pm

    I love non-recipe recipes! Yours look so good!

  9. November 29, 2009 9:31 pm

    Well, now I’m hungry. Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

