Skip to content

A “Wow!” Kind of Morning

November 25, 2009

Today was a rather ordinary, ho-hum kind of a day.  A dreary, damp morning, which we spent trapped indoors.

I caught up on chores that had been put off for too long.  Dusting.  Vacuuming.  Searching under the couch and behind the entertainment center for long-lost puzzle pieces.  Putting away folded laundry.  Not exactly an exciting morning for me, but it apparently was a fun change of pace for Shane.   There was an awe-struck “Wow!” when I dragged the couch away from the wall to vacuum under it.  Cheers of “Yay!” when I rescued toy cars from behind the entertainment center.  And belly laughs when I was laying on my stomach, poking around under the hutch with the vacuum nozzle as I corralled dust bunnies and Cheerios. I’m not surprised…I’m sure I looked pretty amusing with my tush up in the air like that. 

So maybe the chores were a chore for me, but he was having a blast.

Once most of the chores were done I pulled out the finger-paints, and as the colors were swirling together under his fingertips, he kept exclaiming “Wow!”  He’d drag his fingers through the paint, then clap his hands together while cheering “Yay!” at the top of his lungs. 

And, you know…yellow and blue creating green is pretty amazing, when you think about it.

Finger-paint plus a toddler equals a bath.  There’s just no way to avoid that outcome (or if there is…then the finger-painting just wasn’t as much fun as it could have been!).  As the bathtub was filling, he was cheering and dancing.  He tested out his toy boats, stuck the foam letters all over the tub surround, and told me how the rubber duckies say “Kack-kack!”  When he started enthusiastically splashing the water,  causing a minor tidal waves, his jaw dropped, and he whispered a stunned “Wow!” 

And, in all honestly…I don’t blame him.  Splashing around in the tub in the middle of the day is pretty cool.

Lunch was one of those left-over smorgasborg.  Nothing spectacular.  Some roast chicken.  A half an avocado.  A sippy cup of chocolate milk.  Some cheese, a corn bread muffin, and a handful of strawberries.  Which inspired another excited “Wow!” when I set his food on his high chair tray.  

And, I have to admit…it was an incredibly delicious meal.

While I was cleaning up after lunch, he was clutching the Boppy in his arms and pushing it at me, begging “na-night, Mama, na-night.”  We snuggled in the glider, with Shane curled up in my lap and his teddy bear clutched tightly under his arm.  I watched his eyes slowly drift closed as he nursed himself off to sleep…and I thought to myself, Wow

…it had been quite an amazing morning.

Photobucket
Post inspired by Chatting at the Sky‘s “Tuesday’s Unwrapped.”
What is Tuesday’s Unwrapped? Click here for more info.

One Comment leave one →
  1. crnnoel permalink
    November 25, 2009 2:12 am

    The unexpected amazing mornings are always the best!

Leave a Reply

