Skip to content

Why semi-crunchy?

November 24, 2009

Because I’m trying to feed my family a healthy diet, of minimally processed foods…but I have a deep-rooted appreciation for Ben & Jerry’s and Cheez-its.

Because I’d love to be able to purchase local, hormone- and antibiotic-free grass-feed beef or free-range chickens for my family…but our budget only allows for what’s on sale at Market Basket.

Because we co-sleep with our son for part of the night…but I’m going to do a end-zone style victory dance the first time he ever spends the entire night in his own bed.

Because I’m breastfeeding my toddler, and hope to continue nursing him until he’s done…but I’m really hoping he’s done once this flu season is over!

Because I was a dedicated baby-wearer when my son was an infant, and still do even today when we’re hiking…but also appreciated having the baby swing when I just couldn’t carry him any more.

Because we use cloth diapers…but bring disposables when we go on trips longer than a few days.

Because I believe in practicing gentle dislipline…but admit that there are days I lose my noodle and wind up yelling like a banshee.

Because agonized over what to do about immunizations…but ultimately we decided that we want him to be vaccinated.

Because Attachment Parenting is what feels right to me…but I had no idea what it was until sometime after Shane had already been born.

Because it’s who I am. Kind of crunchy at heart…but sometimes a little soggy in action.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 6:31 pm

    Love it! I’m addicted to cheezits myself. I’m following you ๐Ÿ™‚ Nice to meet you!

  2. November 24, 2009 9:52 pm

    You sound a lot like me. I’m still breastfeeding my 16 month old, but I’m ready to quit at any time.

  3. crnnoel permalink
    November 25, 2009 12:41 am

    Love it lady ๐Ÿ™‚ You know I feel the same way about so many things. All in moderation.

    And I always thought loving Ben & Jerry’s as on the crunchier side ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. November 26, 2009 3:23 pm

    I like it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    (watch that name, though! near the bottom.)

    • November 27, 2009 12:41 am

      Whoops! Thanks for the heads up! I decided to change his name on this blog, so heโ€™s not mortified when heโ€™s 13 & decided to Google himself!

  5. November 26, 2009 9:08 pm

    I laughed at the nursing but hoping he’s done once flu season is over :). I had the exact same thought, complete with flu season :).

Leave a Reply

