Skip to content

birth announcement

March 10, 2011

Photobucket

“Just as there is no warning for childbirth, there is no preparation for the sight of a first child. I studied his face, fingers, the folds in his boneless little legs, the whorls of this ears, the tiny nipples on his chest. I held my breath as he sighed, laughed when he yawned, wondered at his grasp on my thumb. I could not get my fill of looking.

There should be a song for women to sing at this moment, or a prayer to recite. But perhaps there is none because there are no words strong enough to name that moment. Like every mother since the first mother, I was overcome and bereft, exalted and ravaged. I had crossed over from girlhood I beheld myself as an infant in my mother’s arms, and caught a glimpse of my own death. I wept without knowing whether I rejoiced or mourned. My mothers and their mothers were with me as I held my baby.”

~ Anita Diamant — The Red Tent

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 7:55 pm

    That passage is beautiful…
    Cannot wait to hear about his birth! Congratulations :)

  2. March 11, 2011 11:59 am

    So happy for you! Congratulations! I love the passage you chose – “The Rent Tent” is one of my all-time favorite books.

  3. March 11, 2011 5:03 pm

    Beautiful!!!
    I hope you are well. I’m looking forward to hearing your story when you are ready to share it. For now take care of you and your little baby.
    G

  4. Heather permalink
    March 12, 2011 9:22 am

    He’s so beautiful, Crystal.

  5. Heather permalink
    March 12, 2011 9:23 am

    Shea would like to add, “That’s a nice baby.”

  6. July 17, 2011 12:24 pm

    Beautiful, so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

