Skip to content

“Rain Coming”

August 23, 2010

We’ve been in the midst of a drought over the past month or so. Lawns are drying up, leaves are hanging limply from the trees, and water bans are in full effect. Any rain we’ve had has been in the form of thunderstorms that dramatically charge through, showing off with wind and noise, but the actually rainfall amount is negligible and runs off the land rather than soaking in.

We’ve been desperately needing rain. A long, slow, steady rain.

Yesterday morning we woke to gray, ominous skies. Shane climbed up on the couch to peer out the window. “Rain coming? Big rain coming?”

He struggled into his new rain boots before the soft drizzle even began.
“Rain coming? Go outside?”

His attempts to wrestle his raincoat into submission ended in frustrated tears. Upside-down and backwards, he just couldn’t get it on right. Once his coat was righted and his arms were tucked inside the too-long sleeves, he sat down on the kitchen floor and set to work on the buckles.
“Han do it. Han play outside. Rain coming!”

He was suited up and ready to go before the gentle mist had turned into a soft rain. Begrudgingly, I pulled my own raincoat and boots out of the closet and followed him outside. He chattered excitedly down the stairs to the driveway.
“Rain coming! Go outside! Han jump puddles!”

And “jump puddles,” he did.

And, in all honestly, once I got out there with him and felt that cool mist on my face,
I realized that “jump puddles” was a pretty good idea!Photobucket

: : : : :

Lisa @ 5 Orange Potatoes is hosting Outdoor Challenge Mondays, a challenge in which participants get their children outdoors, experiencing nature, every day (rain or shine!), and then post about the highlights of the previous week each Monday.  Check out this week’s post on her blog to see the outdoor adventures of those participating in this challenge!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 10:57 am

    Yay for puddle jumping! I’m like you — I need the nudge to get outside when it’s raining, but once I’m out there I kinda love it. Thank God for little kids & their enthusiasm!

  2. August 23, 2010 7:39 pm

    I love his coat!

  3. August 24, 2010 11:53 pm

    We played in the rain today too! I even let my 3-year-old lay down in a puddle in the street. Yes, I did (and I am glad).

  4. August 25, 2010 11:42 pm

    What a delightful post, and the photographs make me want to splash in the puddles. I’d love you to link this up with my Simple Pleasures today. It’s just perfect.

  5. August 26, 2010 6:22 am

    What a blast! I love when Jonathan jumps in the puddles and it’s awesome you got right in on it!

  6. August 29, 2010 1:11 am

    I love that you let him out to jump in the puddles instead of keeping him inside in the dry!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

