Skip to content

Garden Color

June 28, 2010

My mother-in-law found an easel while out yard-sailing this weekend, and brought it home for Shane, not knowing that we already had an easel (courtesy of Freecycle!).

The easel we have already is a sturdy wooden one, complete with a holder on top for a fat roll of paper, and it folds up to slide right under our bed.  It was a great find…and free (it doesn’t get any better than that!)

This new easel is quite a bit bulkier — in regards to both floor space when it’s open, and storage space when not in use.  But it’s in great condition, and only cost my mother-in-law two dollars, so we decided to hold onto it, and use it for outdoor art.  It’ll be stored under our deck, out of the way and easily accessed.

I dragged the new easel out yesterday afternoon while Shane napped, and set it up on the driveway beside our new perennial garden.  We’ve been gradually transforming the space between the pavement and the stairs leading up to our apartment from bare-earth and rubble to a welcoming flower bed. I had several more plants to get in the ground, and a massive amount of weeds to tackle…and I was hoping my son would content to paint while I worked.

Once Shane woke up from his nap we headed outdoors together, with my garden tote in one hand and a bag that contained an old t-shirt, non-toxic paints and a brush, and some old manila folders in the other.

He was beyond excited to be painting outside, and once he was set up at the easel, I started weeding.  It wasn’t long before Shane had completed one masterpiece, and decided to start another…with a twist.  He joined me in the flower bed, where he crouched down beside me and began diligently painting one of the large rocks in our garden.

I love this vibrant addition to our new garden, and think I’ll be encouraging Shane to add some color and pizazz to the two other stones in this flower bed over the weeks to come!  The paint will eventually fade away in the summer rains…but those little spots of color will make me smile while they last.

: : : : :

Lisa @ 5 Orange Potatoes is hosting Outdoor Challenge Mondays, a challenge in which participants get their children outdoors, experiencing nature, every day (rain or shine!), and then post about the highlights of the previous week each Monday.  Check out this week’s post on her blog to see the outdoor adventures of those participating in this challenge!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 2:19 am

    We had a similar outdoor easel and it was great. It didn’t matter if it was left out in a rain storm and the kids spent hours creating masterpieces which they lay to dry on the grass. Its lovely to see Shane having so much fun with yours.

  2. June 29, 2010 7:03 am

    What a fun idea! I LOVE the rock painting!

  3. June 29, 2010 9:58 am

    That really is a great idea to have the p;lastic bulky one used for outdoor art…Your a genius! Your little boy certainly looks like he is a natural and loving every minute of it. Great photos. Thanks for popping by my neck of the woods… it is so nice to meet you! Mica/The Child’s Paper

  4. June 29, 2010 10:45 pm

    I love this one — you know how my explorers enjoy getting creative outside! It’s great that Shane moved seamlessly from painting paper to painting rocks. How fun!

  5. June 30, 2010 11:19 am

    Hi :) Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a lovely comment on my picnic entry :) I’ve been enjoying reading your blog and it looks like you all are having a great time at the beach, puddle jumping, painting and more! We have a very bulky and heavy wooden easel that I leave in our garage for the exact same thing as you and we drag it out in nice weather for painting on to :) Have a lovely week!

  6. Heather permalink
    June 30, 2010 8:48 pm

    Love it!

    If you want to make some that WILL last, pick up some brightly-coloured crayons, have him colour some rocks (smooth works best), then bake them in the oven for 15 minutes or so to melt the crayon.

    Once they’re cool, “polish” them with an old sock, which makes them shiny!

    • July 1, 2010 8:22 am

      No way! That sounds pretty cool…I want to try this, even if Shane doesn’t! :)

      • Heather permalink
        July 1, 2010 3:29 pm

        I did it with my kindergarteners for Father’s Day. Some turned out great! The colours darken, and I used cheap crayons (I’d recommend the Crayola), but they were neat!

        Tried it with Shea, he wasn’t too into colouring the rock :). But Shane seems more artistic than Shea, who pretty much just likes drawing with pen :).

  7. July 3, 2010 11:06 am

    I love this! What a terrific idea to let him enjoy his creativity outside… and I love his idea to add some vibrant color to the rocks! What a sweet way to personalize your garden :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

